1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Volume icon in task bar is a no

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jamesaitchy1967, Oct 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jamesaitchy1967

    jamesaitchy1967 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Hi cant get my volume icon back in the taskbar. Ive did the sounds & audio properties thing as in ticking the (place volume icon in taskbar) but i get an error message saying it hasn't been installed reinstall using add/remove. But i cant see it there to reinstall it and i have no windows CD.
    Anybody got some advice please
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Try one of these REG fixes.

    Save the REG File to your hard disk. Double click it and answer yes to the import prompt.

    Line 316 Sound Icon - Enable
    http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm

    371. Restore Sound - Windows Audio Service
    http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm

    NOTE: If your anti-virus software warns you of a "malicious" script, this is normal if you have "Script Safe" or similar technology enabled. These scripts are not malicious, but they do make changes to the System Registry.
     
  3. jamesaitchy1967

    jamesaitchy1967 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    hi cheeseball81 tryed those teaks nothing has changed.
    I do have volume but i need to go int control panel to mute or turn my volume up or down
     
  4. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    And you tried this too?

    Right click in the task bar near the time display and you will get a pop up menu.
    Click on properties.
    Under system icons to always show, check volume.
    Click Apply.

    If you go to Start > Run
    Type in SndVol32.exe and hit OK
    Does it come up?

    If the SndVol32.exe is missing or corrupted, and you di nit have the CD, you may be able to copy it from another location.
    Normally this file resides in: C:\Windows\System32

    It should also be in: C:\Windows\System32\Dllcache

    If you have a hidden folder called C:\i386 then it is likely to be in there as well.
     
  5. jamesaitchy1967

    jamesaitchy1967 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Hi cheeseball81 Cant find SndVol32.exe in System32 or Dllcache.
    opened hidden files and cant find anything in i386 ither im afraid lots of folders but nothing in them
     
  6. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    I have attached the file here. Make sure you extract it in the C:\Windows\System32 directory.

    You may need WinZip or WinRAR to extract it. Most of the time though Windows can do it.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. jamesaitchy1967

    jamesaitchy1967 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    yessssssssssss that did it mate nice one
     
  8. jamesaitchy1967

    jamesaitchy1967 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Can i ask you about another thing that im trying to fix well get rid of. Or will i have to start a new thread
     
  9. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Great, glad it helped (y)

    What was the other question? I guess it depends on the issue.
     
  10. jamesaitchy1967

    jamesaitchy1967 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    its the log on window when i start the computer dont use a password but still have to click yes to enter can i get rid of that so the computer just starts
     
  11. jamesaitchy1967

    jamesaitchy1967 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    hope that made sence
     
  12. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Give this a try...

    Click Start and select Run.

    Type control userpasswords2 and hit OK

    Select the user you would like to use every time you login.

    Uncheck or the box that says Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer to disable password screen and allow Windows to automatically login and bring users to the main screen. Check the box to enable username and password protection.
     
  13. jamesaitchy1967

    jamesaitchy1967 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    havent got that option on the screen
     
  14. jamesaitchy1967

    jamesaitchy1967 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    sorry a wee second forgot the 2 at the end
     
  15. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Any luck?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024266

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice