1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: WAN v LAN

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Fanis, Jul 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Fanis

Fanis Thread Starter

Guys, I'm at a friend's house on vacation. Connecting to their dsl/home network. Used their 128-bit security key for WEP and now, my 1394 and wireless network connection both show to be connected. However, I cannot access the internet, unless I plug in the ethernet cord. I'm not experienced in networking. Can anyone give me some direction?

Thanks,
    Fanis

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    How about 10 to 1 odds that you typed the WEP hex key wrong? :)

If you have encryption enabled, try w/o encryption until you get a successful session.

First determine if the problem PC is really communicating with the router when it claims to be connected.

To open a Command Window: Start - Run – cmd (command in 98SE) - OK

To determine a computer's IP address and router's IP address: open a Command Window and type
    ipconfig /all

The "Gateway" is the router's IP address.

Now for some troubleshooting:

1. On the PC open a Command window and type
    ping IProuter (where IProuter is the IP address of the router)

Do you get Replies, or do you get packets lost?

IF you got replies,
    2. ping 66.94.234.13 (or any other internet address you know)

If you got replies,
    3. ping www.yahoo.com (or any other internet name)

3. Fanis

Fanis Thread Starter