1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Warm vs Cold boot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Arnold B, Apr 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Arnold B

    Arnold B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Is there a difference in what gets loaded or the order of loading. The reason I'm asking is I have an Intel Wireless USB hub that does not work when I first turn on the computer but it works fine when I then do a warm reboot. Is there a setting I can change to get it to work from a cold boot.

    I'm running Windows 98 on a Petium 3 1Ghz.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi and welcome. Let's move you to hardware and see if anyone has ideas. I had a similar problem with a USB hub, but my system wouldn't even load up with it connected. I finally bought another brand and it works fine.......
     
  3. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    Yes the reason it works when you restart the computer is that the USB hubs transmitter is on at the time of reboot that way the OS can initialize the hub, try going into BIOS and enabling USB Legacy Support this way the USB ports will be active during POST and allow enough time to initialize the hub.
     
  4. Arnold B

    Arnold B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for your reply to my question. Sorry I haven't responded as I was away. Your suggestion make sense but the problem is I have no such setting in my BIOS. I have tried changing all the settings related to USB but nothing helps. Is there another setting that could achive this? My motherboard is a Tyan 1854.
     
  5. Arnold B

    Arnold B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    For those interested, I have solved this problem by installing a $5 USB Hub. Works fine now.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706

    :D :D

    Will mark solved ;)

    THANKS for the follow up :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217373

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice