1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: WD external HD questions

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rubeckf, Sep 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rubeckf

rubeckf Thread Starter

First Name:
    Ruth
    I have had no experience with an external HD, but got one for Xmas last year with a gift cert. The other day I used the backup program in windows xp and it acted as if it was backing up what I wanted backed up. When I went to restore it, it said no backup file found on this drive. What did I do wrong? Does it need to be formatted first like an internal one? If so, I didn't do that first. I would like to use it but don't want to lose what I thought I had saved.

2. mrbrownstone

mrbrownstone

I'd be surprised if it wasn't already formatted. I've never used the XP backup utility so I can't comment on that but does the drive show up in My Computer and if so are there any files on it? I personally use syncback for backups on windows pcs.

3. Ravash

Ravash

i to recently purchased a WD HD and was wondering whats the best way to transer files from my main hard drive to the external one

4. mrbrownstone

mrbrownstone

You should just be able to plug it in, switch it on and copy and paste onto it through my computer like any other disk.

5. Ravash

Ravash

thanks i appreciate the help

6. JESEDIA

JESEDIA

WD makes their own backup software/utilities that should have come with the drive. In most cases, you'll want to use that.

Cheers!

7. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

Actually, I hate the junk that comes with external hard disks. I'd much rather use real backup utilities.

Backup Applications For All Seasons:

For boot image backups, Acronis True Image, available at NewEgg for $30 downloaded, search for Acronis.