1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Web-App-Cloud General Design Questions

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by sherpasolutions, Jan 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sherpasolutions

sherpasolutions Thread Starter

Hi,

I am new to website design & architecture principles & my questions must be to basic to find a concise anwswer online.

Context
    Scoping out a spec for an online portal website using cloud provider which would largely be accesses via a tablet & smart phone.
    There would obviously be a relational database behind it and require queries to retrieve & display the results. Secure log on/remember me etc.

My questions are;
    1. Am I right in my conclusions that HTML is 'base' language for web, and one selects Java/ASP/PHP etc language to code up specific function call that are embedded within?

2. How does one go about selecting Java/PHP/ASP etc? [Note - this would be for a spec doc...I'm not planning on becoming an expert but will definitely invest in learning it]. I find much of the information is bias towards there particular leaning.

3. What are all these open source languages? Drupal/NoSQL etc. Are they inferior to the big guns? Worth looking at?

4. Do the main cloud providers [Microsoft/Amazon/Google/Force etc] specify a particular language to use/access/query their clouds? Or is that just via their APIs?

5. How does the above relate to the App/Tablet development? I'd look to spec both Android & IOS?

Many thanks for any steer, advice or online resources.

2. JiminSA

JiminSA

First Name:
    Jim
    Hi and welcome to TSG John:)
    1 - Yes, html is the medium by which all browsers interpret (render) websites and yes the other languages are used to enhance the operational side of your site.