1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Web Browsers Denied Internet Access

Discussion in 'Networking' started by TheAge, Feb 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TheAge

    TheAge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    I'm not sure if this is the right place to be posting this, however it is fairly bad and having an answer would be amazing. It is also likely helpful to know that I am on Win7.

    Around yesterday afternoon, my Google Chrome began to give me error #138 on any web page I went to. I attempted all of the typical protocol fixes such as making a firewall exception and disabling lots of antivirus software. I uninstalled mbam, McAfee, and Spybot, all of which I was not using. I now have only Norton Internet Security, and I'm not sure if that could be a problem. I then proceeded to try and "wait it out" and use Firefox for a while. I wake up the next morning and it is now giving me a similar error. I don't think this is my router, as the computer 3 feet from me on the same router works like a charm and I am currently posting this from IE. Any help you could possibly provide would be immensely appreciated. :)

    Google Chrome error:
    Code:
    [COLOR=#444444]Google Chrome is having trouble accessing the network. [/COLOR]
     
    [COLOR=#444444]This may be because your firewall or antivirus software wrongly thinks Google Chromeis an intruder on your computer and is blocking it from connecting to the Internet.[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#444444][B]Allow Chrome to access the network in your firewall or antivirus settings.[/B][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#444444][COLOR=#777777]If it is already listed as a program allowed to access the network, try removing it from the list and adding it again.[/COLOR][/COLOR]
     
    [COLOR=#a0a0a0]Error code: ERR_NETWORK_ACCESS_DENIED[/COLOR]
    
    Firefox error:
    Code:
    Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at [URL="http://www.google.com"]www.google.com[/URL].
        The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few moments.
        If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network connection.
        If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.
    
    If any more info would be needed, please say so and I'll update (if IE is still intact). Thanks so much in advance.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,957
    how are you connected to the router by cable or wireless

    did you also use the removal tools for some of these products

    Norton, is this a full paid up version ?

    what windows version is on the PC

    What other firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

    I would suggest
    1) you could try safe mode with networking - this does not always work with wireless connections
    2) use the removal tools to completely remove the security suite
    3) remove norton
    4) check no proxy setup

    - try safemode with networking (sometimes wireless does not work with safemode )
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    Mcafee Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time or even a third time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of Mcafee from the PC

    http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time or even a third time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC

    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current
    https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us...&ispid=&pvid=f-core-cur&q=Norton+Removal+Tool

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Remove any proxy settings
    Check your browser's settings, remove or uncheck any proxy settings if found

    http://www.plus.net/support/software/browsers/proxies.shtml

    http://www.ehow.com/how_5512742_remove-proxy-server.html


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. TheAge

    TheAge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    It would appear that disabling the proxy server has worked. Thanks a million.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,957
    your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1120496