1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Webtime clock TCP/IP error

Discussion in 'Networking' started by php111, Sep 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. php111

    php111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    This is the very first time I ever in my life got a such error as many of times I used Webtime clock. I had did a google.com search for parts of the error and I found out it was TCP/IP error. I don't know TCP/IP. I do know how to use Webtime to synchronize the clock to Atomic.

    I will post the error below. I will cut out my IP address.


    WebTime - 21-Sep-2008
    ======================
    Started up WinSock 2.0
    Socket 472 created
    Connecting to Abovnet, New York City
    URL is nist1.ny.glassey.com
    At IP Address Removed IP
    Connect error:10065.
    No route to host.
    A socket operation was attempted to an unreachable host.
    Socket closed.

    WebTime - 21-Sep-2008
    ======================
    Started up WinSock 2.0
    Socket 452 created
    Connecting to Abovnet, New York City
    URL is nist1.ny.glassey.com
    At IP Address Removed IP
    Socket closed.

    Connect error:10038.
    Socket operation on non-socket.
    An operation was attempted on something that is not a socket.
    Socket closed.

    WebTime - 21-Sep-2008
    ======================
    Started up WinSock 2.0
    Socket 476 created
    Connecting to Abovnet, New York City
    URL is nist1.ny.glassey.com
    At IP Address Removed IP
    Connect error:10065.
    No route to host.
    A socket operation was attempted to an unreachable host.
    Socket closed.
     
  2. Cg13

    Cg13

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    58
  3. php111

    php111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    191


    I just got the tool and the tool is free to download but it's not free to fix or remove the errors. In order to remove the errors, I need a key and to get the key, I need to pay by either creid or paypal. I don't have credit and I don't have paypal. I don't even have a checking account. Are there any freeware tools that will fix or remove my errors?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I can't ping the URL glassey.com, are you sure it's a valid URL? Try time-b.nist.gov, which is the time server I use here.



    Also, you don't need any tools to reset the WINSOCK, and you SURE don't need a registry repair program!

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. php111

    php111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    John Will

    I reset both and it was successful.

    I tried the link you gave me. I will give you the link and maybe I had the link wrong? I will also post the message I got when I tried the site.

    http://time-b.nist.gov/



    Network Timeout













    The server at time-b.nist.gov is taking too long to respond.







    The requested site did not respond to a connection request and the browser has stopped waiting for a reply.

    * Could the server be experiencing high demand or a temporary outage? Try again later.
    * Are you unable to browse other sites? Check the computer's network connection.
    * Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy? Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.
    * Still having trouble? Consult your network administrator or Internet provider for assistance.
     
  6. Courtneyc

    Courtneyc

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,936
    First of all, what operating system are you using and how are you getting the time?

    Windows XP or Vista do not use the web to update the time. They use a protocol called Network Time Protocol (part of the TCP/IP stack) to get the time. The time server "time-a.nist.gov" is an NTP time server. It doesn't work with your browser; it works with an NTP client, which is installed on XP and above by default.

    So, I ask again: what the heck are you trying to do?

    Courtney
     
  7. Courtneyc

    Courtneyc

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,936
    Aha, did some more research. You are using a piece of hardware (Webtime Clock).

    Set the ntp to time-a.nist.gov (not http://).

    Courtney
     
  8. php111

    php111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    191

    I am using Windows XP Pro 32Bit. I am trying to synchronized the clock to the Atomic. I am a person that likes the time to every second. I don't know why but I am funny with the time being off. I can't do it with my watch because it will reset on me.

    With XP Pro, can I still use http://time-a.gov ?

    Ah, I just tried that link I just posted above and it's not valid.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You do NOT use the http:// for time servers. Note that I didn't put that on my time server address, that was for good reason!

    Here are the settings I use for XP, and I can assure you that my time updates just fine.
     

    Attached Files:

    • time.jpg
      time.jpg
      File size:
      36.3 KB
      Views:
      167
  10. php111

    php111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Thank you John,

    The problem was I was putting it in my browser. I now done it with my time in my Control Panel and it works. I updated it.

    I have also marked this thread solved. Thank you again.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You're welcome. :)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/752133

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice