1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: western digital black 250GB vs. western digital enterprise 250GB

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hyperinfinity, Mar 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hyperinfinity

    hyperinfinity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Hi, I want to buy a new hard drive for my desktop PC, and I was wondering if the western digital black 250GB hard drive or western digital enterprise 250GB hard drive would work better for such a PC. Both of the HDDs I mentioned are SATA, in case you're wondering.
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    i think enterprise are usually used by business and for raid setups
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,094
    First Name:
    Frank
    If you can provide the complete model number of both Western Digital hard drives, we should be able to compare their benchmark scores.

    If you don't mind me asking, what's the reason for wanting to buy a new hard drive?

    Does your computer currently have an IDE or SATA hard drive?

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. hyperinfinity

    hyperinfinity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    True, but in the reviews I noticed that some people mentioned that they had a Western Digital black hard drive installed in their desktop PC, and it was also mentioned in comments about one or more of the reviews that an enterprise hard drive would be just as reliable as a desktop hard drive. I've also heard that enterprise hard drives spend less time trying to correct errors on the hard drive, so I'm not sure if that matters considering the fact that the Western Digital enterprise hard drive would be installed in a desktop PC.
     
  5. hyperinfinity

    hyperinfinity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Hi, the model number for the WD Black 250 GB hard drive is WD2500BEKT ,the model number for the WD Enterprise hard drive is WD2503ABYX .The reason why I want to buy a new hard drive is because my current hard drive appears to be failing, it's been clicking fairly often lately. Unless there's a way I could repair my hard drive myself for free and without much effort, or a paid repair service that would costs less then the new hard drive, and it doesn't seem that either of those things would be the case, buying a new hard drive appears to be the best option. I've heard of placing the hard drive in a plastic bag and then placing it in the freezer, but I have some doubts about that being a good idea or even if it's effective. I've also heard of tightening the screws on the hard drive, but none of the screws looked like they were loose. Oh, and my computer currently has a 250 GB SATA hard drive.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,094
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Western Digital Scorpio Black WD2500BEKT has a disk rating of 537 and has these specs:

    16 MB cache 7200 RPM 3.0 Gb/s

    The Western Digital Enterprise WD2503ABYX has a disk rating of 760 and has these specs:

    64 MB cache 7200 RPM 3.0 Gb/s

    Are you aware the WD2500BEKT is a 2.5" model for laptops/notebooks and the WD2503ABYX is a 3.5" model for desktops?

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. hyperinfinity

    hyperinfinity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    I didn't know that the Scorpio Black HDD was for laptops/notebooks, but I knew that the Enterprise HDD was for servers and could also be used in desktops. I didn't find any info at all about the Scorpio Black HDD being for laptops/notebooks, but I did find other info about it on the item page, which is odd.
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,094
    First Name:
    Frank
    When you're researching and buying a hard drive on-line, be careful and make sure it's the correct hard drive for the computer.

    Laptop hard drives are generally 2.5".

    Desktop hard drives are generally 3.5".

    Older hard drives mostly have a ribbon-type IDE connection.

    Newer hard drives mostly have a cable-type SATA connection.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. hyperinfinity

    hyperinfinity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Good point, no point in buying something that you wouldn't be able to use. I checked and found out that my hard drive is a SATA hard drive. It's a Hitachi Deskstar hard drive, and it seems that all of those hard drives are 3.5", so I think anyway that I would need a 3.5" hard drive to replace it . Also, I'm not sure if this matters or not, but I've heard that enterprise hard drives spend less time correcting errors, so I'm not sure if the WD Enterprise hard drive would work well for a home PC.
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,094
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm partial to Seagate drives over Western Digital drives, so I can't really comment on the Western Digital Enterprise.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. hyperinfinity

    hyperinfinity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    That's fine, and thanks for taking time to post. I was thinking about buying a Western Digital hard drive because of all of the good reviews I read about them.
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,094
    First Name:
    Frank
    You're welcome. :)

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1094596

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice