Solved: What did I do? Install second harddrive. (moved from XP)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TechQuest7

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
53
Hello....Well I tried to install my other computers harddrive into my good computer using the CD ROM cable(I should have bought a double connector cable,hindsight)and it did not work, so I reinstalled into the computer it came from and now the motherboard does not read it all. What did I do?I have a installation program just for my harddrive,but it's like it's not even connected.
 

TechQuest7

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
53
no.....I just needed a cable so I disconnected it and used to for the Harddrive not realizing it would not work that way(same connector)
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
437
The cables used to connect the cd-rom and the hard drives to your computer are the same kind of IDE cable. What cause you the problem is probably one of these 2 things:

1: When you used the cd-rom cable to connect your hard drive, you connected the hard drive to the IDE port on your computer that is reserved for cd-roms, and not the alternate hard drive port.

2: You changed your jumper settings on your hard drive.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2005
Messages
431
ryanjoachim said:
The cables used to connect the cd-rom and the hard drives to your computer are the same kind of IDE cable.
This may or may not be true. Even though there are still only 40 pins, ATA-66/100/133 drives need 80-wire cables to work correctly.

1: When you used the cd-rom cable to connect your hard drive, you connected the hard drive to the IDE port on your computer that is reserved for cd-roms, and not the alternate hard drive port.
??? I've never seen dedicated connectors for CD devices. An IDE connector is an IDE connector.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
195
AGCurry said:
This may or may not be true. Even though there are still only 40 pins, ATA-66/100/133 drives need 80-wire cables to work correctly.



??? I've never seen dedicated connectors for CD devices. An IDE connector is an IDE connector.
Agreed. I have never seen this either.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,227
The problem could be an 80 pin v. 40 pin problem, but most drives and mobos work fine with standare 40 pin IDE cables. The mobo should have a primary and secondary IDE port, allowing you to connect 4 drives using two cables with double drive connectors.

I suggest connecting the main hard drive as Master and the second hard drive as a Slave to the primary port being sure to set the drive jumpers approprietly for Slave and Master. Note that Western Digital drives make a distinction for setting the jumpers if a drive is Single on that port or a Master with Slave. The secondary IDE ports should be used for your CD or DVD drives.

If you are still having a problem, why not buy an external USB enclosure for your spare drive? You can buy one for about $25.
 

TechQuest7

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
53
Well thank everyone for your advice. My main concern now is getting it operate in the computer it came from which it does not.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top