Solved: What is this cpu L2 cache?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

blues_harp28

Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,003
Many thanks to Flavallee for info on downloading everest speck.
The report said there was no CPU L2 cache and the external cache was disabled.any thoughts on how to repair?
Thanks to you all in advance..
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi and welcome. Unrelated to this post, but it would be nice if you'd follow up on your last post with the outcome ;)
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Quotes from a few different web pages,

"L2 CACHE - A piece of fast memory that sits between the L1 cache of the processor and main memory. It is usually larger than L1 cache, and the L1 cache checks the L2 cache before going to main memory for data (unless the L1 and L2 caches are unified--see unified cache). Nowadays L2 caches are almost always on the same die as the microprocessor, but they can be off-chip."

"A level 1 (L1) cache is a memory bank built into the CPU chip. A level 2 cache (L2) is a secondary staging area that feeds the L1 cache. Increasing the size of the L2 cache may speed up some applications but have no effect on others. L2 may be built into the CPU chip, reside on a separate chip in a multichip package module (see MCP) or be a separate bank of chips on the motherboard. Caches are typically static RAM (SRAM), while main memory is generally some variety of dynamic RAM (DRAM)."
 

blues_harp28

Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,003
Thank you Bob for your reply.
Is it something I should worry about? and is there a remedy?
 

blues_harp28

Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,003
Just found your site Bob,if I had some spare ££ss I would pass them you way, thanks again.
 

blues_harp28

Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,003
Thanks for your help,not solved as such but will be keeping an eye on it
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top