1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: what ram do i need?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by leighcomputers, Oct 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. leighcomputers

    leighcomputers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    i have taken a picture to find out information on the ram i want to add another 2gb ram. but i dont want to order the wrong one or not fit into the slot? it will not let me upload the picture.
    [​IMG]

    thanks
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,907
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the motherboard description?

    That's the best way to determine how much RAM it supports and what DDR2 modules it supports.

    -------------------------------------------------------

    What Windows version(XP, Vista, 7) are you using, and is it 32-bit or 64-bit?

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,161
    First Name:
    Allan
    For Cpu-Z the Mainboard ( = Motherboard) tab is the one to look at.

    Also is it a Desktop or a Laptop ?
     
  4. leighcomputers

    leighcomputers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    this is a desktop.
    its running at the moment vista home premium 32bit.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. leighcomputers

    leighcomputers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    62
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,907
    First Name:
    Frank
    I can't find anything on Packard Bell BV APL00.

    I suggest you go here and run the Crucial System Scanner.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. leighcomputers

    leighcomputers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    its not connected to the internet nor can i connect it is there any other one i can download and run on it? thanks
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,907
    First Name:
    Frank
    You need to be on-line to run the scanner because it needs to download and install an activeX control for the scanner before the scanner will run.

    I'm guessing by the Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 processor that the motherboard supports at least 4 GB of RAM and uses DDR2 PC2-6400 modules.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. leighcomputers

    leighcomputers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    could i open the pc and look inside and see what the ram inside says? i seached DDR2 PC2-6400 and they all seem different sizes im worried i will order the wrong one.
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,907
    First Name:
    Frank
    If you want to go inside the case to remove the RAM modules to inspect their stickers, you need to be careful doing it so you don't fry the components with static electricity.

    After the desktop is turned completely off and unplugged, press and hold in the power button for a few seconds.

    After you remove the side panel of the case, ground yourself by touching a metal part of the case for a few seconds.

    Carefully remove each RAM module by pressing down on both locking levers at the same time.

    While handling the RAM modules, don't touch the row of metal pins along the bottom.

    When you reinsert the RAM modules in their slots, make sure you line them up in the correct position and then press down firmly to fully seat them.

    The locking levers should flip back up into the side notches.

    Hopefully, your case is roomy enough to easily remove and reinsert the RAM modules.

    Just be careful you don't accidentally dislodge or disconnect anything.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. leighcomputers

    leighcomputers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    i can see acer 2009 02 on it and a serial number cant reach it but if need be i can try

    [​IMG]
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,907
    First Name:
    Frank
    I love seeing a nice clean interior. :D

    One slot is empty, so the filled slot is obviously a 2 GB module.

    It's my guess the empty slot will accept a 2 GB module.

    Do the large white letters say PTS73 ?

    Your computer appears to have a Packard Bell Stingray PTS73 motherboard - which supports 4 GB of RAM.

    It supports 240-pin DDR PC2-4200(DDR2-533) and DDR2 PC2-5300(DDR2-667), 1.8V, non-ECC modules.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. leighcomputers

    leighcomputers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    yes i hope it will take 2gb told it will but what one can i order? thanks
     
  14. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,907
    First Name:
    Frank
    Re-read my last reply. I've been adding to it.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  15. leighcomputers

    leighcomputers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    yes they do seem to say that
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024474

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice