Solved: what ram do i need?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

leighcomputers

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
62
i have taken a picture to find out information on the ram i want to add another 2gb ram. but i dont want to order the wrong one or not fit into the slot? it will not let me upload the picture.


thanks
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,146
What's the motherboard description?

That's the best way to determine how much RAM it supports and what DDR2 modules it supports.

-------------------------------------------------------

What Windows version(XP, Vista, 7) are you using, and is it 32-bit or 64-bit?

-------------------------------------------------------
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,071
For Cpu-Z the Mainboard ( = Motherboard) tab is the one to look at.

Also is it a Desktop or a Laptop ?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,146
I can't find anything on Packard Bell BV APL00.

I suggest you go here and run the Crucial System Scanner.

--------------------------------------------------------
 

leighcomputers

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
62
its not connected to the internet nor can i connect it is there any other one i can download and run on it? thanks
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,146
You need to be on-line to run the scanner because it needs to download and install an activeX control for the scanner before the scanner will run.

I'm guessing by the Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 processor that the motherboard supports at least 4 GB of RAM and uses DDR2 PC2-6400 modules.

---------------------------------------------------------
 

leighcomputers

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
62
could i open the pc and look inside and see what the ram inside says? i seached DDR2 PC2-6400 and they all seem different sizes im worried i will order the wrong one.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,146
If you want to go inside the case to remove the RAM modules to inspect their stickers, you need to be careful doing it so you don't fry the components with static electricity.

After the desktop is turned completely off and unplugged, press and hold in the power button for a few seconds.

After you remove the side panel of the case, ground yourself by touching a metal part of the case for a few seconds.

Carefully remove each RAM module by pressing down on both locking levers at the same time.

While handling the RAM modules, don't touch the row of metal pins along the bottom.

When you reinsert the RAM modules in their slots, make sure you line them up in the correct position and then press down firmly to fully seat them.

The locking levers should flip back up into the side notches.

Hopefully, your case is roomy enough to easily remove and reinsert the RAM modules.

Just be careful you don't accidentally dislodge or disconnect anything.

-------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,146
I love seeing a nice clean interior. :D

One slot is empty, so the filled slot is obviously a 2 GB module.

It's my guess the empty slot will accept a 2 GB module.

Do the large white letters say PTS73 ?

Your computer appears to have a Packard Bell Stingray PTS73 motherboard - which supports 4 GB of RAM.

It supports 240-pin DDR PC2-4200(DDR2-533) and DDR2 PC2-5300(DDR2-667), 1.8V, non-ECC modules.

--------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,146
Re-read my last reply. I've been adding to it.

--------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top