1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: What to do with backup

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by philip1519, Dec 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. philip1519

philip1519 Thread Starter

A friend installed an old hard drive into my hp as a backup which was written to monthly. The hp is failing and i have put the backup drive into my Dell. The question is: What do I do with it now. I guess I want to find files that I wish to use or keep and transfer them to the c drive of the dell. Eventually I will save the accumulated data to a new machine. I have never done this before and I probably thought that the backup would distribute itself to the proper folders for use in the new hard drive. Do I need to search for and distribute every file in the eight year old computer to my eight year old Dell? Both machines run xp. Here is a screenshot of what happens when I double click on the d drive in my computer.

Attached Files:

2. owners4life5

owners4life5

did you use any specific program to backup?

3. philip1519

I don't really know. My friend set the whole thing up, so what you see in the screenshot is also a picture of my very first look at the backup.

4. owners4life5

owners4life5

what exactly are you wanting to do? just copy the files from your backup drive to your dell's main drive? i noticed that in the picture there are two folders: one that says "mailbackup" and one labeled "monthly". have you looked inside either of these files yet?

5. philip1519

Copy? No, use, view, listen to, enjoy. When I open "monthly" I see a .bkf of 24 gigs. But I don't know how to get into it and find the individual files that are supposedly stored there.

6. Elvandil

Elvandil