[SOLVED] When I put in a game cd, it doesn't start up....

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dreamkitty71

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2001
Messages
10
I don't know if I am even on a site where someone may be able to help but I am willing to try anything at this point. My little girl has game cd's that I have had loaded on my desktop for sometime. I still have to put most of them in the drive to play them. All the sudden a while back, the thing acted like there wasn't any cd in there. The green light kept blinking but then would stop and.......nothing. It will not start any cd of mine. I used to listen to my music cd's on my computer but now, can't even do that. I'm about to throw the darn thing over the balcony but really hate to do that since it is only a year old. Everything else works fine. When I go to do a check on it, it says that it is unable to access drive D:. That the drive is locked by a disk utility. And then tells me to scan again when the disk is no longer locked.....???? I know how to surf the net, I have done a lot of other advanced things on my computer but this, I just do not understand. PLEASE, PLEASE, HELP!!!
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
So you are saying your CD problem is bigger than just no Auto-insert but you cannot access/use the drive at all. Am I correct? What version of Windows are you using? How long has this problem been going on? Did you install or uninstall something and then this problem started? Please answer each question so we can help you better.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Also, instead of trying to 'scan' the cdrom (this error will occur) what happens if you go to 'my computer' and try accessing a game from there? Do you get a directory? Or what error message?
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2000
Messages
341
Not meaning to interrupt, but do you maybe have a CD burner? If so it may be locked. In the right hand corner you might have an icon (sometimes marked with an X to show it is locked) that if you run your cursor over should say something about being locked. Just a suggestion. You might try just cleaning as well.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2000
Messages
341
But I would definitely listen to Dan O and AcaCandy, since they are more knowledgeable than I. I have used their suggestions many times from other threads.
 

dreamkitty71

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2001
Messages
10
I have had this problem for oh I guess about a month or so. And I am using windows 98. I have never had a problem like this before and like I had said, this is a year old computer that was bought new. The light turns on when I put a cd in but then it just turns off and doesn't detect anything. I have tried to run a cd by using my start and then run but that doesn't work either. How would I find out if maybe it was uninstalled or something was done that would have made it stop working? I have Norton anti-virus and do on occasion cleaning. Could I have somehow done something when I was using the Norton to clean up my computer? I am so confused. You think you know your own computer until something like this happens.....Thank you for responding!
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
Norton anti-virus can cause some problems. I recommend you disable it as a test. Select Start, Run, type: MSCONFIG, select OK, Startup Tab, and uncheck all refereneces to Norton anti-virus. You can recheck them later to re-enable it. Reboot and try a CD. If it does not work open My Computer from the desktop and select the CD-ROM drive. Can you view the contents? If you double click the file Autorun.INF what happens?
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
5
hi
youve got the same problem as ive got
if anyone figures it out plzzzzzz let me know how you did it
bye
 

dreamkitty71

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2001
Messages
10
Ok...I did all that you had said and by the way, thank you for taking the time. None of that helped the cd to work. And when I opened CDROM, the only two things in there were OAKCDROM.SYS and README...And when I try to double-click on OAKCDROM.SYS, it tells me to click on the program I want to use to open this file. I do not know what that is. And I don't see Autorun.INF. Or I should say I don't know how to get there. I am so sorry for being such a pain in the butt. I am trying here....:) Thank you for your time. I will keep trying anything.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi dreamkitty, I think what Dan O had in mind, is for you to place a good known working cd into the cdrom drive.....now trying to read the contents of the cd.
 

telecom69

Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
9,807
I had exactly this problem Candy after reistalling that windows 95 and the only way I could get most cd's to work was by doing as you said earlier and clicking on the icon in my computer ......
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
I am trying to logically analyze the problem and test current conditions. You stated originally Auto Insert work and when you attempted to access the CD-ROM drive you received the error "unable to access drive D:". I am confuse by your statement, "opened CDROM, the only two things in there were OAKCDROM.SYS and README...". Please answer these questions:

1. Have you installed an anti-virus utitility, such as Norton anti-virus?

2. If so did you disable it as I suggested?

3. Using My Computer can you view the files on a CD?

4. If not what error do you receive.

5. Rename AUTOEXEC.BAT to AUTOEXEC.SAV and CONFIG.SYS to CONFIG.SAV, then reboot and test. Any thing different occur?

Hang in there we will work through your problem.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2001
Messages
4,022
Sorry to jump in here but I'm a little confused too. Just on the off chance though do you have TweakUI installed and if so did you or someone else by any chance go into the My Computer tab and uncheck all of the drives except A and C ?

This is an add-on program that allows tweaking of Windows items and I've seen people uncheck all other drives from d through z thinking they don't need them. This will cause more than one problem.
 

dreamkitty71

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2001
Messages
10
Ok let's see here now...I did install Norton anti-virus but that was a long time before I started having this problem. Tonight, I put in a cd, the door opens and shuts fine, and it made noise like it was trying to do something. The green light on it was flashing. And then when I tried to click on a window it would not click. My mouse would move but it would not click anything. Then when I went into "my computer", I got up where it said Cdrom but when I tried to open the contents, it said [D:] CD-ROM Disk, and when I clicked "open" or even "explore" it gave me a little window that said...D:\ is not accessible. And under that, it said, in the same window, The device is not ready. Then it gives you an option to Retry or Cancel. This is all really weird. And I don't know that much about really going into my computer and checking anything out. LOL. I am the type of person that I can read the files and all that but if something was wrong, I wouldn't even know it. Thank you so much for helping me. I just hope it isn't serious. I have an emachine and from what I understand, they don't fix those. They just trash em. I have only used it a year and would hate to be out of a computer. Thank you and any other suggestions are certainly welcome. :)
 

dreamkitty71

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2001
Messages
10
Oh, one more thing I forgot, I looked for that AUTORUN.INF and didn't know where to look. I found the AUTOEXEC.BAT but did not know how to change that or how to change the CONFIG.SYS. Sorry. I am still learning....:(
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top