1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Where is Microsoft Security Essentials and how do I activate/use it? (please

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by AlwaysScrewed, May 14, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AlwaysScrewed

    AlwaysScrewed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    So I'm trying to set up the new computer my mom got with Windows 8.1. It's not going well. But that's my problem and not your guys.

    I can't seem to find the Microsoft Security Essentials that you guys told me about to use for my virus protection. When I started the computer, it had McAfee on it. However, I'm pretty sure it's just a trial program that won't last long.

    If someone could please help me find Microsoft Security Essentials and how to activate it, I would really appreciate it.

    I would really appreciate any help anyone here could give me.

    Thank you.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is not on Windows 8/8.1 its called windows defender

    Mcafee is just a trial program , if you remove it using
    control panel and the removal tool
    you should find windows defender will turn on

    Mcafee Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time or even a third time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of Mcafee from the PC

    http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331
     
  3. AlwaysScrewed

    AlwaysScrewed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Alright. I'll have to double post and update on this later because I'm trying to do Windows Updates first.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OK, yep, that happens and usually quite a few on the first update

    as a tip, for others reading , I usually change during the outofbox setup to turn OFF
    then set up the PC as i want it and then the last thing i so is turn windows update back on again
    so that I'm not at someones elses house just waiting for loads of updates to run
     
  5. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    You could do well to re-read the advice from Wayne in Post #2.

    Removing McAfee completely can make you want to take up knitting or carpet bowls.... or anything other than computers.

    And if you encourage your mom to think twice before she clicks on "stuff" then you will find that Windows Defender for W8.1 will do a good job of protecting her system.

    In terms of the rules of the Forum I am not permitted to advise you about security but I can tell you that on my personal computers I use Windows Defender and Malwarebytes Premium and a serving of paranoia - and that combination seems to work well for me.

    T.
     
  6. AlwaysScrewed

    AlwaysScrewed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    I can't afford Malwarebytes Premium.

    It's done and Windows Defender is on but I haven't run a scan yet so it says "Potentially unprotected"

    I haven't had a chance to mess with Windows Firewall yet and I won't.

    Because I'm having internet issues and the speed is absolute horrid when it shouldn't be. I'll be attempting to find the thread where I can ask for recommendations on a Wireless Adapter to get better speeds because I'm getting almost twice the speed on my laptop then my new desktop.

    This issues is resolved. I guess. I'll make another thread if something else comes up.

    Thank you.
     
  7. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    You need to be aware that MBAM Free and MBAM Premium are not really comparable. To understand the difference you need to visit the Malwarebytes Forum where you will find a detailed description of the differences - which are significant in terms of the protection provided.

    T
     
  8. AlwaysScrewed

    AlwaysScrewed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    And you need to be aware that I can not afford MBAM Premium.

    I was told previous by others on this forum that MBAM Free would be sufficient for my protection needs. Are you saying that everyone else on this forum who told me this are incorrect?
     
  9. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,273
    Here is a comparison chart on the differences between the two products. Generally speaking, the free version if sufficient for most users. However, if you want the real-time protection and/or the web site protection then you'd have to get the premium version but often those features are included in your anti-virus program (not sure about AVG though) or similar effects can be obtained from within your Browser (for instance you can use Firefox with NoScript to prevent malicious scripts from running on websites, etc.).

    https://www.malwarebytes.org/antimalware/
     
  10. AlwaysScrewed

    AlwaysScrewed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Well I was just told previously that Windows Defender, Windows Firewall, and MalwareBytes Free, and AdBlock plug-ins for FireFox would be sufficient for protection needs.
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,273
    And where did I say anything to the contrary? :confused:

    BTW, in addition to AdBlock Plus in Firefox you should also use NoScript.
     
  12. AlwaysScrewed

    AlwaysScrewed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Okay. I'll keep that in mind if I can ever resolve my Networking issue.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Where Microsoft
  1. herolatt24
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    325
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148233

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice