1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: where is my scan/reg?

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by zip316, Feb 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zip316

    zip316 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    hi everyone,i was getting ready to start a post about low resources,but i read another post and i said that is my problem!!i dont have scanregistry in my start-run-msconfig.where is it and how can that be? does zonealarm run your resources from 94% to 78% and lower?that is what is happening to my pc.thanks in advance for any help.

    *********************************************************
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
    Scan saved at 11:49:57 AM, on 2/2/05
    Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZLCLIENT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGCC.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGEMC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGAMSVR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS[1]\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://www.yahoo.com/search/ie.html
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com
    O2 - BHO: Yahoo! Companion BHO - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\INSTALLS\CPN7\YCOMP5_5_7_0.DLL
    O2 - BHO: PopupManager Class - {08E74C67-99A6-45C7-94DA-A397A8FD8082} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\POPUP MANAGER\POPUPMGR_1.0.1.8P.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\INSTALLS\CPN7\YCOMP5_5_7_0.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] "C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGCC.EXE /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_EMC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGEMC.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Yahoo! Search - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Dictionary - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Maps - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {4528BBE0-4E08-11D5-AD55-00010333D0AD} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YHEXBMES0521.DLL
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger - {4528BBE0-4E08-11D5-AD55-00010333D0AD} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YHEXBMES0521.DLL
    O12 - Plugin for .bcf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPBelv32.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {1C922443-125F-11D0-8006-00A024514E76} (Voxplay Control) -
    O16 - DPF: {90A29DA5-D020-4B18-8660-6689520C7CD7} (DmiReader Class) - http://ftp.us.dell.com/fixes/PROFILER.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst20040510.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6A060448-60F9-11D5-A6CD-0002B31F7455} (ExentInf Class) - http://us.games2.yimg.com/download.games.yahoo.com/games/play/client/exentctl_0_0_0_1.ocx
    O16 - DPF: {EE8B6D5F-FEF2-11D0-B13F-00A024798EF3} (Microsoft Search Settings Control) - http://lg.home.microsoft.com/search/lobby/searchsettings.cab
    O16 - DPF: ChatSpace Full Java Client 4.0.0.300 - http://about.chatspace.com/Java/cfs40300.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Poker - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/pt1_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Chat - http://us.chat1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/chat/applet/c381/chat.cab
    O16 - DPF: {C2FCEF52-ACE9-11D3-BEBD-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/common/bin/cabsa.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://chat.msn.com/bin/msnchat45.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B8BE5E93-A60C-4D26-A2DC-220313175592} (ZoneIntro Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/ZIntro.cab28578.cab
    O16 - DPF: {14B87622-7E19-4EA8-93B3-97215F77A6BC} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/MessengerStatsPAClient.cab28578.cab
    O16 - DPF: {DA758BB1-5F89-4465-975F-8D7179A4BCF3} (WheelofFortune Object) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/WoF.cab28578.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Word Racer - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/wt1_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: {2359626E-7524-4F87-B04E-22CD38A0C88C} (ICSScannerLight Class) - http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/free/cm/ICSCM.cab
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,739
    First Name:
    Frank
    Zip316:

    Click Start - run, type in MSCONFIG, then click OK - Startup(tab). ScanRegistry should be among the list. Place a checkmark next to it, click Apply - OK, then reboot.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    You're using an outdated version of HijackThis. Replace it with version 1.99.0. You can get it in the spyware tools section at http://www.majorgeeks.com/

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    I see a C:\WINDOWS.000 folder in your log. Have you or someone else reinstalled Windows in that computer? It should always be reinstalled in C:\WINDOWS. Look in the C:\ directory and see if both a WINDOWS and WINDOWS.000 folder are there.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. zip316

    zip316 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    hi thanks for the reply,i did start-run-msconfig and scanregistry is not in the list.that is what i was wondering.i did reinstall win 98 over the old one and i have not been able to get windows 000 out.i have had problems on this pc like you would not believe lately. friday i am going to get a new one,a walmart special,and i will make sure i put a firewall on it .and i will scrap all my old passwords and email addresses and start all back over.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,739
    First Name:
    Frank
    What likely happened is while you were reinstalling Windows, you excepted C:\WINDOWS.000 to install it in, instead of removing the .000 to make it C:\WINDOWS before you continued on.

    Personally, I would delete the C:\WINDOWS.000 folder, then reinstall Windows again and make sure that it reinstalls in C:\WINDOWS.

    Walmart has some decent Compaq and HP computer packages, but make sure that you really want to spend all that money instead of fixing your current computer.

    What type and speed is the processor and how much RAM is installed in your current computer? It might be old and slow enough anyway to warrant buying a new one.
     
  5. zip316

    zip316 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    hi,thanks i will try to reinstall windows again
    heres the specs on this pc.
    microsoft windows 98
    4-10-98
    genuine intel
    pentium(r)ii processor
    intel mm x(tm)technology
    128.0mb ram
    the one at wallyworld has a dvd combo cd player so i think i will get it.
    back to my question though,where is my scan registry?
    here is my hjt log
    ********************************************************************************************************************
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
    Scan saved at 8:20:54 AM, on 2/3/05
    Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGCC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGEMC.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZLCLIENT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\LEXBCES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\LEXPPS.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://www.yahoo.com/search/ie.html
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com
    O2 - BHO: Yahoo! Companion BHO - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\INSTALLS\CPN7\YCOMP5_5_7_0.DLL
    O2 - BHO: PopupManager Class - {08E74C67-99A6-45C7-94DA-A397A8FD8082} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\POPUP MANAGER\POPUPMGR_1.0.1.8P.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\INSTALLS\CPN7\YCOMP5_5_7_0.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS.000\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGCC.EXE /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_EMC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGEMC.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Yahoo! Search - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Dictionary - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Maps - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {4528BBE0-4E08-11D5-AD55-00010333D0AD} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YHEXBMES0521.DLL
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger - {4528BBE0-4E08-11D5-AD55-00010333D0AD} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YHEXBMES0521.DLL
    O12 - Plugin for .bcf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPBelv32.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {1C922443-125F-11D0-8006-00A024514E76} (Voxplay Control) -
    O16 - DPF: {90A29DA5-D020-4B18-8660-6689520C7CD7} (DmiReader Class) - http://ftp.us.dell.com/fixes/PROFILER.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst20040510.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6A060448-60F9-11D5-A6CD-0002B31F7455} (ExentInf Class) - http://us.games2.yimg.com/download.games.yahoo.com/games/play/client/exentctl_0_0_0_1.ocx
    O16 - DPF: {EE8B6D5F-FEF2-11D0-B13F-00A024798EF3} (Microsoft Search Settings Control) - http://lg.home.microsoft.com/search/lobby/searchsettings.cab
    O16 - DPF: ChatSpace Full Java Client 4.0.0.300 - http://about.chatspace.com/Java/cfs40300.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Poker - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/pt1_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Chat - http://us.chat1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/chat/applet/c381/chat.cab
    O16 - DPF: {C2FCEF52-ACE9-11D3-BEBD-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/common/bin/cabsa.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://chat.msn.com/bin/msnchat45.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B8BE5E93-A60C-4D26-A2DC-220313175592} (ZoneIntro Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/ZIntro.cab28578.cab
    O16 - DPF: {14B87622-7E19-4EA8-93B3-97215F77A6BC} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/MessengerStatsPAClient.cab28578.cab
    O16 - DPF: {DA758BB1-5F89-4465-975F-8D7179A4BCF3} (WheelofFortune Object) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/WoF.cab28578.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Word Racer - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/wt1_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: {2359626E-7524-4F87-B04E-22CD38A0C88C} (ICSScannerLight Class) - http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/free/cm/ICSCM.cab
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,739
    First Name:
    Frank
    If you want to go for broke and delete the C:\WINDOWS.000 folder and then reinstall Windows in the C:\WINDOWS folder, do that first before we do anything with the HijackThis log.

    I have no idea what happened to ScanRegistry. Reinstalling Windows in its proper folder should hopefully resurrect it.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    If that computer has a Pentium II processor, the speed should be 266 MHz or higher(I don't recall what the speed is for the first Pentium III processor). Windows 98 will run okay with that processor and 128 MB of RAM - as long as it's not hobbled with a bloated startup load and other memory-hoggish programs.

    You'll probably be happier with a new computer, once you get it set up and running. Windows XP takes some getting used to after using Windows 98 for so long. I've got mine set up though so it looks a lot more like the Windows 98 interface.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. zip316

    zip316 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    hi,before i delete and reinstall windows98 let me tell what i have in my computer-done c.
    windows.000 1.30gb 15,804 files,1,097 folders
    windows~000 118mb 7 files,3 folders
    windows 73.5mb 289 files,37 folders
    so which one/s should i delete? thanks.
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,739
    First Name:
    Frank
    Does both the WINDOWS and WINDOWS.000 folder have a long list of files with a CAB extension?

    Do you have a Windows 98 startup disk and the Windows CD, and do you know how to reinstall Windows in DOS mode?
     
  9. zip316

    zip316 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    hi ,the windows~000 has nothing but temp in it ,the windows .000 has everything in it from a to y. where is my scanregistry? i have the windows cd i dont remember if i have the startup disk,i ll look for it i dont know how to reinstall in msdos.
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,739
    First Name:
    Frank
    Okay. I didn't see that it also had a WINDOWS~000 folder. If it's got nothing but temp files, delete the whole folder.

    Also, go into Find - Files And Folders, select the hard drive to look in, then delete everything that appears under:

    *.TMP

    C:\TEMP\*.*

    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\*.*


    The Recycle Bin is going to pile up, big time, so you'll need to empty it. Some of those files you delete may also be too big to go in the Recycle Bin.

    That computer is a real mess. :(

    You should be able to reinstall within Windows. It's a matter of going into the WINDOWS or WINDOWS.000 folder and double-clicking the "Setup.exe" file.

    Before you start, press Ctrl-Alt-Delete to open the Close Program box, then "end task" everything, except Explorer and Systray. If a second box appears for something that you end tasked, ignore what it says and just click "end task" again.
     
  11. zip316

    zip316 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    hi,guess what happened,i did all that you said and then the pc started acting up .i could not reinstall from the computer or from the startup disk or windows cd,i was stuck,so i went to scanreg/restore and the last date in there was 1-27-2005,so i restored from 1-25-2005 now i have my scanregistry back and everything is working except for my avg wont load the resident shield.i think i will uninstall and reinstall that and see what happens.tomorrow i am going to get the new pc from wallyworld and i think i will keep this one for learning purposes.thanks
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,739
    First Name:
    Frank
    That sounds like a good idea. Once you get the new computer set up and running, you can play around with the old one. Personally, I'd format the hard drive and install Windows from scratch in DOS mode. You'll start out "clean" and probably make that computer run a lot better. I did that with my Compaq Presario 5900T and regained over 2 GB of hard drive space, besides getting rid of all the useless and redundant junk.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/325980

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice