1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Which hard Drive Should I Install ?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TooOld, Jan 27, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TooOld

TooOld Thread Starter

I have a 3 year old Gateway DX4860 sitting in the corner collecting dust and thought I'd buy a new hard drive for it and get it working again . I've never done this before and it seems pretty straight forward but I was wondering which hard drive I should buy .

It currently has a Western Digital 1.0TB #WD10EADX and finding a replacement is simple enough . But for just a few more dollars I can buy a 2.0TB #WD29EARX or a 3.0TB #WD30EZRX . Will these work in this computer ?
    The 1.0TB has SATA / 32MB Cache on it and the other two have SATA / 64MB Cache on the label .

Thanks for any advice you can give me .

2. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    The computer may be limited to 2TB drives and smaller based on it's age. The cache size doesn't matter from a compatibility point of view, more should give slightly better performance under certain conditions.

If you want performance don't get a Green drive, they are best suited for secondary/storage drive. Get a Blue drive or get a higher end Black Edition drive for even better performance.

Is the current 1TB drive faulty?

3. TooOld

TooOld Thread Starter

About 6 months ago the computer just went dead and produced a high pitched whistling sound . Every time I turn it on it just whistles . I opened the case and it sounds like it is coming from the hard drive .

4. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob