1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: which user account do you want to run this program XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by webby048, Jul 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. webby048

    webby048 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    which user account do you want to use to run this program

    for some reason this message prompt has decided to pop up each time I log on.

    It doesn’t appear to be affecting anything at present just pure nuisance value.

    I have never had this problem before and the computer has always opened to desktop
    with no worries.

    I am currently running Windows XP and have not made any recent changes to my settings.

    Control Panel/Users gives no indication of the prompt or where to turn it off.

    The system purports two accounts, myself as Administrator and Guest which must have been set up when I purchased the computer.

    Any help would be gratefully appreciated.

    Regards,

    webby048

     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,244
    Do you have any idea as to what "this program" refers to ?
     
  3. webby048

    webby048 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Hi Lunarlander,
    The pop up frame is asking you do decide between "current user" or the "following user".
    You can dismiss the prompt using the top right hand corner red cross and all works well.
    I have been fossicking around the net and other threads have elluded to this being a "Run with different credentials" prompt but the fixes suggested and boxes to uncheck do not appear on my XP screens.
    Regards, webby048
     
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,244
    But do you know what program is trying execute?

    In the run box, type msconfig. This will give you the ability to decide which programs auto start when you login. Look at the Startup tab.
     
  5. beresford

    beresford

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I've had the same problem as this on my XP setup since about the middle of July. I notice that somebody else has also attempted to raise a thread about it on the Virus and Malware forum. I've done the remote Symantec virus check, run AVAST, Combofix and GMER in an attempt to track it down, as well as pruning msconfig and checking identities of continuously-running processes. I can append the Combofix log if it is of interest, otherwise I will lurk and see if this guy's problem fix is a clue to mine.
     
  6. webby048

    webby048 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Tried the msconfig/Startup group but there were no processes that gave any hint as to be the one controlling the user. The last two on the list consisted as
    nothing but a string of wingding character squares - is this normal for XP ?
     
  7. beresford

    beresford

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    There IS a possibility (unless the TSG guy says otherwise) that we are all infected with Windows Update and that Bill has dropped a clanger. Having run a number of virus and rootkit checkers and got 'clean' every time, I am wondering if one of these perennial security patches is responsible.
     
  8. beresford

    beresford

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Found elsewhere on the Net. The theory is that Microsoft have changed something to make LG update software require Account permission. I have disabled the LG update software in my msconfig and the problem SEEMS to have gone away.
     
  9. AcousticStories

    AcousticStories

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    If you've identified the application requiring elevated permissions as safe, you may want to consider performing the update, rather than stopping the application from running.
     
  10. beresford

    beresford

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    OK, tried that. Reenabled lgfw.exe, got the Run As box, gave it all the permissions to go, nothing happened. Rebooted and there was the Run As box. Re-disabled lgfw.exe, rebooted, the box was gone. I am now going to inform Lucky Goldstar on the offchance that they might be interested.

    http://forums.thinkbroadband.com/wi...s-window-for-my-xp-please.html?fpart=all&vc=1
     
  11. webby048

    webby048 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Thanks Beresford and AcousticStories - the plot definitely thickens - I am
    running LG software in my mix so i'll have a squiz and try the tweek.
     
  12. webby048

    webby048 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Hi All,
    Tried that but ended up with yet another (different) pop up warning !!!
    so have re-enabled the LG process.
     
  13. beresford

    beresford

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Don't be shy, tell us which warning. Do you mean the one about msconfig being in 'Diagnostic' mode? I just ticked the box saying 'Don't tell me this again'. It then goes into 'Selective' mode, which you can also get from the General tab of the msconfig menu.

    In the long term it is not great having lgfw off because it means that you won't get any genuine updates, but I made a report to LG yesterday so hopefully they will be able to sort it out.
     
  14. webby048

    webby048 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    yes thanks Beresford - you are right, it is the old "Diagnostic mode" trick...
    This whole episode is like a touch of the Cleopatras - a real pain in the Asp !
    However, I'll persevere and put up with it - I was contemplating updating to
    Windows 7 (one of my "gunna") jobs, so will hang in there for a bit and watch
    out for LG mods.
    Hoprefully this wont happen with Win7.
    Thanks everybody for taking the time to help.
    Regards, Webby048
     
  15. beresford

    beresford

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    OK mate. At least we know it isn't a virus. If you get an LG or Microsoft update in the next few months which clears the fault, come back and tell us, because a lot of people are doing big hacks to get rid of it.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1062239