1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Why don't my CD-ROMs play music any more?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by joeAgain------, Feb 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    My computer says there are no disks on them when I try to play my audio CDs.

    What could make that happen, please?
     
  2. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    Howdy Joe, been awhile.

    First question is (yes I know it's simple but...) Do you hear sound from other sources such as an installation disk that has a music intro?? Just to make sure the drive's connection to the sound board hasn't become dislodged.

    If the answer is yes, then the most likely answer is somehow your file association to .cda has been changed or eliminated. If you put a misic disk in and open it in Explorer, what does the track show for an icon?
     
  3. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    Hi Grif,
    My old knowledgable friend,.....yes, it's been awhile(how are things in the wild Northwest Territories?)

    I do get sound and can play music files stored in my computer and individual files when I open the driver in explorer.

    But I used to be able to put a disk in and it would start playing, or the disk icon would show that there was something in there(and when I double clicked on it...all the songs would play in a row)...now I don't get either one of those things happening.

    What can I do to get that stuff back, friend?
     
  4. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    Ok, you've probably accidently turned off the "Auto Insert Notification".

    In Device Manager, double click on the CDROM entry, then on the ATAPI entry and you'll see a tab, "settings". Make sure there's a check mark in the "Auto Insert Notification" box.

    If you have TweakUI installed you may have shut it off there. You would find it under the Paranoia tab where it says, Play audio CD's automatically and below that data CD's.
     
  5. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    Yes, you were right. That was turned off.

    I think maybe it was a CD burning program I installed recently. I seem to remember a popup saying "auto starting" could cause problems with burning CDs(or something like that)

    But actually I don't need them to play automatically....I just want the computer to recognize a disk of any kind is there(and when I double click the icon have it play if it's audo, or open if it's data).

    A new CD-ROM that I put in today(from DELL), doesn't seem to recognize anything is in there.

    Do CD-ROMs have jumper settings, like hard drives do?
     
  6. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    Yes. If you're running it as a slave on the same cable as the one we were just working on you'll have to set the jumper for "Primary Slave".

    Most come set by default as Master. If you installed it on another cable then it can be the "Secondary Master". Also I've seen many people install the drive but forget to provide it power. Did you? Can you see the drive if you open "My Computer"?

    Like This: I and J on mine, you should see the same with different drive letters such as D and E.

    <img src= "http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=732425 ">
     

    Attached Files:

  7. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    yes, there is an icon for it in Control Panel and I'm positive that there is power to it(and the light flashes on it during boot up, and when I press the button for the tray to open, etc.)

    my system "knows" the 2nd one's there, but won't let it play.

    I'll check the jumper settings.

    Thanks for the help....now at least one of the CD players work.

    I'll need to wait now 'til my family is off that computer to shut it down and check jumpers, but I'll get back with you, Grif.

    Thanks
     
  8. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    Good Luck :cool: :cool:
     
  9. AbvAvgUser

    AbvAvgUser

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,281
    A separate wire needs to be attached from your CD drive to your MotherBoard for Audio CDs to play. Is that wire properly attached?

    Secondly, try playing Audio CDs through Windows Media Player. Even if other programs (like WinAmp or Windows deault CD Player) cannot play an Audio CD, Windows Media Player can play it in certain circumstances. But I tink for that you need version 7 or above.

    Try this and get back.
     
  10. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    Yes, I use Windows MediaPlayer 9 for all my audio and video playing. Thanks.

    That's odd about the separate wire....the computer and CD drives that I am asking about here in my older Win98SE system HAS the 3rd wire connectors firmly attached to both new and old CD drives and to the motherboard(so that isn't an issue in this situation, I guess), but in my newer XP system where I moved the CD-ROM from, there was no 3rd wire connection cables attached it to (or the remaining DVD drive in the newer XP system) the motherboard.

    Why is that?
     
  11. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    Last night I rechecked the jumper settings on both CD drives and they both seem to be correct.

    I looked in my Device Manager and found that "auto insert notification" was turned off....so I turned it on for both CD drives.

    Now the one that was always in my machine(master) changes it's icon in Control Panel and plays when I put a disk in it,...but the 2nd drive's icon still does not indicate a disk is there when I put one in....and tells me "the device is not ready" when I double click on it.

    Why is this weird thing still happening on that 2nd CD drive?
     
  12. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    but the weird thing is that my CD burning software recognizes both CD drives(CD-R/W...the one that now plays, and CD-ROM, that does not play) as both being there to use.

    What the heck is going on with that CD-ROM? Why can't I use it with CDs(either data or music)? It worked fine in the new machine.

    does anybody know, please??
     
  13. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Will that drive 'see' any cd?

    Oops, ok, you edited.......can you read a cd from dos mode with it?
     
  14. joeAgain------

    joeAgain------ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,183
    Hi Aca,
    Please tell me how you do that?

    I've never done that in DOS mode before.
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Boot with a Windows boot disk with cdrom support......choose w/cdrom support.....the drive letters for the cd drives will be one higher than where they are now......change to the drive letter by typing, example:

    E:
    and press enter......then dir and press enter...you should get a listing..if you get an error there, the lens may be dirty, or the drive needs replaced.

    I see where you say it worked fine in another machine? Is it screwed too tightly into the drive bay?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119429

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice