1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Why is there never the full memory on external/flash memory hard drives?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wicked.ludicrous, Jan 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wicked.ludicrous

    wicked.ludicrous Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    I know the question is awkward. So hopefully, I can explain it.

    Say that I have a 500 GB external hard drive. But as it turns out, there's only 465 GB according to it and my computer. Why isn't there 500 Gb, but rather only 465? This also applies to mp3 players like iPods.

    Why is this?

    Can I do something to get back the "hidden" memory?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Same thing with hard drives. It's because 500,000,000,000 bytes is 465 GB's. There is 1024 bytes in a kilobyte and not 1000.

    Nothing is "hidden".
     
  4. wicked.ludicrous

    wicked.ludicrous Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    oh........
    stupid me....
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You're not the first. At least that way, you know exactly how many bytes you are buying. If you used the other system, 500 GB's would be 536,870,912,000 bytes, and most people don't carry that number around in their heads. That would be like saying, "Oh, the Moon is beautiful tonight. I see that it is 186,241 miles away!"
     
  6. Compie Jim

    Compie Jim

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    *nods* It's a (common) mistaken assumption that computer storage works in decimal (base ten). Since machine language is binary, those prefixes work in powers of two. A kilobyte is 2^10 bytes, equaling 1024.
     
  7. Cpl. Chronic

    Cpl. Chronic

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    I was wondering about this as well. I knew about the powers of 2 and all, but I guess
    I didn't put 2 and 2 together to figure it out.

    guess I should have put 2x2 together.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA oh I kill me.

    anyway thanks
     
  8. wicked.ludicrous

    wicked.ludicrous Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    haha
    yeah
    and i even searched how many kbs there were in a mb the other day...
    should've come to my head
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/794103

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice