1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: wifi cant connect to local/home network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by plshlpme, Dec 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. plshlpme

    plshlpme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    lost wifi access thru local (home) connection. can connect thru public network. my grandma during last visit accidentally changed the network to her laptop. Have tried to reset netgear wnr2000v1 with pin in back. turned off and waited and turned back on again--no success. have tried to set up new network--see the network listed but no internet access available. have modem/router from comcast. My laptop is Acer Aspire 5733 with Lan Broadcom and wireless lan atheros. Hope that helps. gettting discouraged. have looked on your other threads/posts for suggestions-have tried many so far no help. have used your website in past and has always helped esp. since I'm not very computer savvy. How can I get my wifi connected again.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Vicatron>PING192.169.2.1
    'PING192.169.2.1' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    C:\Users\Vicatron>Ping google.com
    Pinging google.com [72.14.204.147] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=52
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=52
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=52
    Reply from 72.14.204.147: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=52
    Ping statistics for 72.14.204.147:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 30ms, Maximum = 31ms, Average = 30ms
    C:\Users\Vicatron>
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,917
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. plshlpme

    plshlpme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    [​IMG]Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Vicatron>IPconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Vicatron-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F2-DF-9A-61-8B-AF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.invalid
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B95 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : D0-DF-9A-61-8B-AF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-70-F4-AA-BA-C9
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f10e:9632:f2d1:d6a5%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.9(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 3:33:16 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, December 08, 2011 3:33:16 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 236745992
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-B1-0C-9C-B8-70-F4-AA-BA-C9
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Hamachi:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Hamachi Network Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7A-79-05-13-84-23
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2620:9b::513:8423(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9cbf:9f93:d04b:4cce%15(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 5.19.132.35(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, December 07, 2011 3:32:28 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, December 06, 2012 3:34:35 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 5.0.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 5.0.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 276461929
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-B1-0C-9C-B8-70-F4-AA-BA-C9
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{8C0851C0-F671-43C7-8899-C67F403169E4}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{47C247E4-6B48-4C6F-A2A3-397B7D3116D3}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.domain.invalid:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2ca3:1532:bc54:a89a(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2ca3:1532:bc54:a89a%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5B06BF4C-FFD7-4511-9771-B9D290391CC5}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Vicatron>


    [​IMG]
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,917
    First Name:
    Terry
    Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.
     
  5. plshlpme

    plshlpme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    how do I disable encryption on router--thru control panel...etc. (step by step) or by accessing netgears website. Sorry if sounds like a real weird question--I just don't know.
     
  6. plshlpme

    plshlpme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    went to netgear's website and looked under wireless settings. In wireless network changed security options to none--is that right?
     
  7. plshlpme

    plshlpme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    works fine with "none" as security option but won't work with WPA2-PSK (ADS) as recommeded by netgear. Is leaving no security a cause for concern?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,917
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site.

    Try WPA-PSK TKIP encryption. In practice it is still as secure as WPA2-PSK AES, as nobody has yet broken it.
     
  9. plshlpme

    plshlpme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    checked the wireless driver updates and if working properly before I contacted you. Have changed to WPA-PASK TKIP encryption, seems to be working now. I was able to connect yesterday with no problems. THANKS FOR YOUR HELP. SO GLAD I FOUND THIS WEBSITE--IT ROCKS!!! THANKS AGAIN AND KEEP YOU IN MIND IF/WHENEVER I MAY ENCOUNTER ANY OTHER COMP PROBLEMS. PEACE OUT>>>>>>>>>>>
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,917
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)
     
  11. BeyondNovice

    BeyondNovice

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    After going through all of the procedures here, I figured I'd better get a new card. When I opened the bottom cover I noticed only one antenna lead going to terminal 2. I moved that lead wire to terminal 1. Coincidence?
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029999

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice