1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wifi Chip Not Working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by brownd898, Feb 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brownd898

    brownd898 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    My Wifi Chip Is Not Finding Connections All It Says On The Computer Is No Connection Found :( How Do I Fix This. Computer Spec:Acer Aspire 5100 Installed memory:512MBMaximum supported memory:4GBMemory type:SODIMM DDR2-533
    SODIMM DDR2-667Video card:ATI Radeon Xpress 1100
    Up to 128 MB of shared system RAMVideo features:Integrated 3D graphicsAudio card:HD audio
    Compatible with MS Sound
    Compatible with Sound Blaster ProSpeakers:Built-in speakers
    Built-in stereo speakersScreen size:15.4"Screen resolution:1280 x 800 (16.7 million colors)Screen aspect ratio:WidescreenScreen type:Acer CrystalBrite TFT LCDHard disk drive:40GB
    or larger driveCD-ROM/DVD/Optical drive:8x DVD-Super Multi double-layer drive**Pointing device:TouchpadMicrophone:Built-inCard reader:MMC
    MS
    MS PRO
    SD
    xDPCMCIA slots:1 x PCCard Type IIModem:56K ITU V.92 modemLAN:10/100MbWi-Fi:802.11b/g
    Acer InviLinkExternal ports:1 x Audio Headphones/Speakers/Line-out
    1 x Audio Mic/Line-in
    1 x VGA
    3 x USB 2.0Dimensions:358.1mm x 269.2mm x 33.8mm (14.1" x 10.6" x 1.33") Weight:6.22lb (with primary battery)Battery:4-cell Li-Ion battery (29.6W, 2000mAh)
    1.2-hour battery life
    2.5-hour rapid charge
    3.5-hour in-use chargeOperating System(s):Windows 7Included accessories:

    Answer Will Be Great :)
    100V - 240V AC adapter
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

    lets see the following please

    ipconfig /all
    xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    then type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  3. brownd898

    brownd898 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Im Using Spybot And Windows Security Essentials
     

    Attached Files:

  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,091
    First Name:
    Allan
    The ipconfig /all is showing your wired network but no wireless one.

    Is there a wireless card listed under Network Devices in Device Manager ?
    If not are there any Unknown Devices listed or Devices with a yellow ? or ! next to them ?
     
  5. brownd898

    brownd898 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    No It Is Not Listed In Device Manger :confused:
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have a look in the bios/setup and see if it is enabled

    as you start you should see a message to press a key (often F2, F10 or Del Key ) to enter the bios / setup

    once in have a look around and see if there is an option to enable the wireless , if not enable - if you cant find - then exit without saving
    DO NOT change anything else in the bios
     
  7. brownd898

    brownd898 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    There Is Not An Option In Bios :(
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you may need to use a USB wireless adapter
    OR
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Try reseating the wireless adapter

    If the adapter is easily accessible, usually through a cover on the bottom of the laptop.
    Remove and reinsert it carefully and firmly to make sure it is not loose.
    Then remove and carefully and firmly replace it several times to cure any possible looseness or corrosion.
    At the same time check to make sure the antenna leads are securely attached.
    Note: This is not taking the machine apart. We do not recommend removing the keyboard when that is necessary to find the wireless.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. brownd898

    brownd898 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    It Was A Bit Lose I Put It Back In Firmly But It Still Does Not Work, I Reseted It But Is Still Did Not Work :(
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    anything in device manager with a yellow ! or ?

    can we see a screen shot
     
  11. Simba7

    Simba7

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    350
  12. brownd898

    brownd898 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    I Don't Have A Button That Turns Wifi On And Wifi Off And It Is Not Showing In Device Manger. :(
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    see page 14 of this manual
    ftp://ftp.acer-euro.com/notebook/aspire_5110/manual/aspire_3100_5100_5110_en.pdf
    slider switch on the front

    also if not in device manager - it maybe disabled in bios/setup

    as the pc starts, press <F2> to access the BIOS utility and verify that the wireless is enabled

    do not change anything else in the bios - and if no wireless shown in the bios - make sure you exit WITHOUT saving
     
  14. brownd898

    brownd898 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Wireless Is Enabled And I Switch The Slider Switch On Front But Was Does The Green Mean?
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ?? is that a light on the front ?

    page 26 on the manual - mentions the charging light
    is that what you are referring to
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090915

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice