1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wifi connection

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by yeupc, Dec 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. yeupc

    yeupc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Hi,

    I have an IBM laptop using Window XP. Since someweeks ago it has often disconnected wifi and I have had to restart it, then it connected to wifi for a while (some minutes or hours) and disconnected again and again.

    I followed advices in this forum to go to start-run-cmd-ipconfig/all and received the following message: " An internal error occurred. A device attached to the system is not functioning.

    Additional information: unknown media status code."

    Start-run-cmd-ping 4.2.2.1: destination host unreachable.
    Ping statistics for 4.2.2.1: packet sent=4, received = 0, lost = 4 (100% lost).
    Can someone helps me fixing this problem.

    Thank you very much.
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Ok:So is your real problem that your wifi connection is not stable ?
    If so,let's see a couple of things:
    Wifi test exe. Hint from Johnwill

    Download and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector from
    www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    on the problem machine. Post a screen shot of the main screen here.



    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button
    to upload it here.

    Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.
    And,try this again when your connection fails:
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

    Are there any other pc's on this network having the same issue ?
    About the time this started to occur ,anything changed? Hardware/software ?
     
  3. yeupc

    yeupc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Thank you for your help.

    I run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector for hours (overnight) but it is still running now and I cannot copy it here (hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key but nothing happens). Do I need to wait? I do it when the laptop is connected well to wifi.
     
  4. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    The wi fi inspector output should be immediate.
     
  5. yeupc

    yeupc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    I open Xirrus wi-fi inspector and it runs with graph, so it takes time for filling screen wide graph. And also I can not shoot the screen.
     
  6. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Ok:Let's do a couple of things.
    Change the wireless channel being used(1/6/11)in US.Output from wi fi inspector would show wireless networks around you.Pick a channel that is not well used.
    Go to your pc makers web site and see if there are any more curent wireless adapter drivers for your model.
    Then let's see ipconfig /all for a working and non-working environment.
     
  7. yeupc

    yeupc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Output from wifi inspector:
    Adapter name: Inter(R) PRO/wireless 2200BG network connection
    Network mode: 802.11b/g
    Default Encryption: TKIP
    Default auth: WPA2/PSK
    BSSID: 00:18:4D:81:E2
    Frequency: 2437
    Network type: Access point

    My laptop: IBM ThinkPad T42

    ipconfig /all for a working and non-working environment resultsare the same:
    " An internal error occurred. A device attached to the system is not functioning. Please contact Microsoft Product support service for further help.

    Additional information: unknown media status code."

    Can you help me to find problems? Thank so much and A Happy New Year to you.
     
  8. yeupc

    yeupc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Yes, I found out that my laptop wireless adapter drivers are ancient. Do you recommend me to replace drivers or replace the laptop?
     
  9. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    I would replace the drivers as a start and change the wireless channel.
    Other thing you could do is boot up in safe mode with networking,and see if problem persists.
    Like so:

    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/chsafe.htm#03
    Might also be a good idea to do a stack repair.Like so:
    Stack repair for XP and Vista.
    Courtesy of Johnwill of the Networking forum.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.


    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following netsh commands..

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.

    And here is some additional info on this particular error msg. with ipconfig /all

    http://www.chicagotech.net/troubleshooting/ipconfignotfunction.htm
     
  10. caribconsult

    caribconsult

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    do you have an external WiFi adapter, like a USB unit? Try disabling the internal unit in the device manager and use an external, just to isolate things. If it does connect with the external, go fetch the latest drivers for your internal device from IBM and try it again.
     
  11. yeupc

    yeupc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    I found somethings wrong with Video controller (VGA compatible) so clicked start-run-regedit and changed letter from I: to C: in HKEY_... Then I did ipconfig all/ again and it seems that the problem fixed. Now just wait and see if wifi connection is stable or not.

    Thank Pedroguy and Caribconsult very much for your valuable advices.

    I will keep you posted about this issue in the next day.
     
  12. yeupc

    yeupc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    It seems that my laptop wifi is stable now. Thanks again.
     
  13. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Great.You can mark the thread solved using the button top left
     
  14. yeupc

    yeupc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Oh not yet, this morning I used internet and for about a half hour it happened again: instable connection and output of inconfig /all appeared as before. So it starts from the beginning, haiz
     
  15. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    So,Can we see output from ipconfig /all or is that still an issue ?
    Have you done a wireless channel change ?
    Does the error msg give you any kind of event or error code ?
    Have you run your antispyware/antivirus app to see if you have been infected.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971421

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice