1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: WIFI Help

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Smithy1961, Jul 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Smithy1961

    Smithy1961 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I have just installed a new hard drive!

    I have installed windows XP home edition.

    WIFI on tyhe computer does work with the old hard drive, but not with the new one.

    What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks

    Smithy1961
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,859
    you probably need the driver and possibly other drivers as well

    make and exact model of the PC

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with

    internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause

    key

    if this does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb
    In the Start Search box type
    device manager and then press enter

    -------------------

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side}

    {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager


    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the

    devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen

    shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All

    programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the

    Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,592
    If these are the current specs of your computer, you need to do 2 things:

    1. Obtains the Windows XP drivers for all of its devices at the Dell support site, then burn them off to a CD-R.
    You can then install the needed drivers from the CD-R that didn't get installed during the install of Windows XP.

    Dell support

    2. Upgrade Windows XP SP1 to SP3.
    Without SP3 installed, some new programs won't install and work, and some currently-installed programs won't update.
    The windows Updates site also won't allow you to obtain and install the security-related high-priority updates that Microsoft releases on a regular basis.
    Since your Windows XP disc is SP1, you should burn off the SP3 upgrade to a CD-R.

    SP3 upgrade

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Smithy1961

    Smithy1961 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    make of Laptop is Dell Latitude D830

    model EU 870 D

    if I load SP3 for XP will this have the drivers I need?

    Smithy1961
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,592
    Upgrading to SP3 will not automatically load the device drivers you need.

    You need to download them from the support site for your laptop.

    What's the 7-character service tag number on the sticker?

    What are the names in the Device Manager that currently have a yellow ? next to them?

    You may need the driver for more than the wireless device.

    etaf is real good in dealing with wireless issues, and he's here to help you.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Smithy1961

    Smithy1961 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Service Tag number is

    5P7ZL3J

    Express service code is 124-089-836-95

    Regards


    Smithy1961
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,592
    Answer the question on line #4 in post #5.

    I'll get back to you shortly.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,592
    According to that service tag number for your specific Dell Latitude D830 laptop, these are the Windows XP drivers for its wireless and ethernet devices:

    Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN MiniCard

    Driver Version: 5.60.18.9

    Applies To: Wireless 1395 WLAN MiniCard
    Dell Wireless 13xx, 14xx, 1505 MiniCard
    Wireless 1505 Draft 802.11n WLAN Mini-Card Desktops
    Wireless 1490 Dual-Band WLAN MiniCard
    Wireless 1390 WLAN MiniCard

    Broadcom 57xx Gigabit Integrated Controller

    Driver Version: 10.26.0.0

    Applies To: Broadcom 57XX Gigabit Integrated Controller

    -------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Smithy1961

    Smithy1961 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    WIFI is working with the new dell drivers thanks a million.

    Do I need to put on SP3?

    Forever debted

    Smithy1961
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,592
    I'm glad to hear you got the wireless issue resolved. (y)

    Yes, you need to upgrade to SP3 for the reasons I previously mentioned.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063141