1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Wifi not working on laptop

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ACA529, Mar 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    I have been using wifi on my laptop for 3 years with the same router and all of a sudden today it decided to stop working. Other computers can connect to the D-Link router just fine using wifi.

    I tried restarting 3 times and that didn't fix anything. I try to repair the connection and it tells me it failed.

    I'm using Windows Vista on the laptop.

    Please help.
    Thanks.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. Assuming success you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.

    Can you connect successfully by ethernet?
     
  3. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Thanks for your help!

    When you say encryption, do you mean the wireless password?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    More or less. With encryption disabled (set to 'off' or 'none' or similar) no wireless key or passphrase is needed.
     
  5. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Okay I tried disabling the password and then restarted but it still will not connect.

    Thanks.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  7. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Thanks TerryNet. I rebooted in the morning and all of a sudden it started working again when I entered in the wifi password.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/984676

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice