1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: WiFi problem when moving away from router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Kingmate01, Apr 11, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kingmate01

Kingmate01 Thread Starter

Hi all,

I have been using a router for a few years now, no problems up until the last two weeks or so.
    All internet capable devices including a Windows 8 laptop, android phone and an Apple Ipad only recive limited access when placed at the other end of the house (so I do not think it is OS/device related). This issue is recent.

Strength is at 4 out of 5 bars normally, dropping to 2 or 3 when at the far end of the house. This has not been an issure before. Reseting the router helps for a few minutes, moving into 'internet range' (as the router works fine when really close to the device) also helps for a couple of minutes if the device is moved into 'limited range'.

Running an ethernet cable from the same location as the 4 bars range is fine, no worries.

I tried the first 2 steps in this article: http://www.fixedbyvonnie.com/2013/1...or-no-connectivity-wi-fi-issues-in-windows-8/
    1st step worked for about the same time as resetting the router, I couldnt carry out the second step as the correct tab was not there.

I have tried other web articles but there is nothing specific that I can find about my problem.

One other thing I should mention is that we purchased a 'wifi booster' thing that sits right at the other end of the house does nothing to help with the situation. Restarting the booster and being within 5 bars range does not help (which makes me think it is a problem with the router wifi itself).

Thanks,
    Andre

2. LaptopNomad

LaptopNomad

First thought is WIFI signal interference - reducing reach of the WIFI signal.