1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Will a desktop PC connect to internet on WiFi?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by LadyInDistress, Dec 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LadyInDistress

    LadyInDistress Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Hi all. I'm going to phrase this the best way I know and hope I can make my question clear and I will apologize in advance if my terminology is incorrect. I am moving from the US to Costa Rica and the place where I will be staying has Wi-Fi. I have a laptop and a desktop I want to use while there. I know the laptop will work, but I'm not sure about the desktop. I have a wireless network now but my desktop is hard wired via ethernet to the wireless router. I have DSL service now through my ISP. My question I guess is do I have to have a land line at my new location to connect my desktop to the internet or is the wireless technology built in and the ethernet cable is superfluous? I hooked up everything myself for my home network but just followed directions, so I have no clue what everything does. I just wondered about the desktop being able to connect to the internet. Under Network Adapters in Device Manager I have 3 items: 802.11n Wireless LAN card, Microsoft Virtual Miniport Adapter, and a Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller. Sorry for my ignorance and any guidance you can give me is certainly appreciated.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD A4-3400 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, AMD64 Family 18 Model 1 Stepping 0
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 5618 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6410D Graphics, 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 703335 MB, Free - 658429 MB; D: Total - 11965 MB, Free - 1463 MB;
    Motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION, 2ACF
    Antivirus: Norton 360, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,716
    First Name:
    Terry
    You have a wireless adapter ("802.11n Wireless LAN card") so disable the ethernet connection (or just unplug the cable) and see if you can connect to your router's wireless network.
     
  4. LadyInDistress

    LadyInDistress Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    No, that doesn't seem to work. I unplugged the ethernet from the back of the CPU and I could not connect; the laptop was fine, of course.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,716
    First Name:
    Terry
    Is your wireless connection enabled? Can you detect any networks? If so, what exactly happens when you try to connect to yours?

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Also show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following commands:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  6. LadyInDistress

    LadyInDistress Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks so much for your help with this, TerryNet. I've attached the screenshots. In the middle of all this, my laptop lost its internet connection. I had to power down the modem and restart everything. Now my desktop (which I reconnected with the ethernet cable) is telling me I have to reinstall the wireless network. It's asking for a WPA on the bottom of the gateway, but I can't find that. I will have to contact my ISP, but in the meantime you can see what's happening otherwise. I have to go out for about an hour or so and then will get back online. I appreciate your efforts more than I can say.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,716
    First Name:
    Terry
    Your router is owned by your ISP and they have you locked out of it? Otherwise, you could just login and see what the WPA passphrase is or set a new one.
     
  8. LadyInDistress

    LadyInDistress Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Apparently that was so. After a lengthy call with my ISP, we were able to reset connections and I now have wireless desktop access. I credit you with your knowledge and assistance because you pointed me in the right direction, which I never would have found without your guidance. Thanks so much and best holiday wishes to you.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,716
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)

    Season's Greetings to you, and I hope your move goes well.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1080947

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice