1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Solved] will hang on shut shut down...limbo?

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by jumper, Sep 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jumper

    jumper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    i am runnig a compaq, amd duron, winme 20gb, 192ram and 50%free and assorted other programs, haven't made any drastic changes in some time. what happens is i shut down, the monitor goes off and thats about it. i have shut off as many programs as possible and even went into ctr/alt/delete to shut of many others. i have to press and hold the reset,which results in scan disc upon start up, which prevents me fom making setting changes etc.

    i am now hung up could use a hand pls

    jumper
     
  2. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Use the System Restore to roll back the computer to a functional state:

    To restore your computer settings from an earlier time:

    Click the Start button.
    Point to Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click System Restore.
    Choose Restore my computer to an earlier time, and then click Next.
    Click a day on the calendar, click the restore point description, and then click Next.
    Make sure you have closed all your files and open programs, and then click OK to close the dialog box.
    Click Next.
    Your system will revert to its previous settings.


    If this fails, download Hijackthis and post the log here:

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html
     
  3. jumper

    jumper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    Thanx tried that and found out that the most recent system restore was the same time I was asking. So that didn't work.
    I am runnning adaware an spybot, both are very valuable tools to me. I hope they keep working. I am not sure what Hijakthis would do for me if I am already running spybot etc. pls advise
    jumper
     
  4. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    We need to see the running processes in your computer as to determine if there is a hidden Malware running in the background.
     
  5. jumper

    jumper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    alright, once I figure out how to do that I will get back to you. If you think the help file won't help me get this info pls send a return as to how to accomplish this.

    thanx, jumper.
     
  6. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Run Hijackthis. Right click on the log and select Select All. The entire text will be highlighted. Right click again on top of the highlighted text and select copy. Open a Reply here, point to the text box, right click and select Paste. The entire text will be transfered to the reply. Submit Reply.
     
  7. jumper

    jumper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    okay, slow down. Do I need Highjackthis (HJT) on my computer or does the "running process" have this (still working on that one). I am sure that if I need HJT I can easily download it (right? cause presently I do not have it)
    I am learning this computer as slow as I can, and locking up just as much, maybe I need a new OS.
     
  8. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    HJT is a program such as Adaware. You download the file, run it, and it will produce a report on the running processes. You just have to post a copy of this report here.
     
  9. jumper

    jumper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    okay, wilco. i found site and am downloading
    thanx
     
  10. jumper

    jumper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    I hope this works,

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
    Scan saved at 10:06:08 PM, on 13/09/2004
    Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON INTERNET SECURITY\CCPXYSVC.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON INTERNET SECURITY\NISUM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\COMPAQ\CPQINET\CPQINET.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
    C:\CPQS\BWTOOLS\SCCENTER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHPC32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LEXBCES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SAMSUNG\SMARTHRU\PORTCT95.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HIDSERV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DHACZI.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MESSENGER\MSMSGS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LEXPPS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WBEM\WINMGMT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\EFFICIENT NETWORKS\ENTERNET 300\APP\ENTERNET.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SAMSUNG\SMARTHRU\LIST32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SAMSUNG\SMARTHRU\SS.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SAMSUNG\SMARTHRU\QS.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SAMSUNG\SMARTHRU\AGENT32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0001.DIR\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://desktop.presario.net/scripts/redirectors/presario/deskredir.dll?c=3c00&s=consumer&LC=1009
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://ca.rd.yahoo.com/slv/ycheck/as/*http://
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://ca.rd.yahoo.com/slv/ycheck/as/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://ca.rd.yahoo.com/slv/ycheck/hp/*http://ca.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://ca.rd.yahoo.com/slv/ycheck/as/*http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=%s
    O2 - BHO: CNavExtBho Class - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHELPER.DLL
    O2 - BHO: Curl - {A78CC2FF-6E4E-4556-B27C-D7C3A70D7A50} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {3DAC645A-B416-7AEA-8753-60550DA6291B} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\EPN.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCHealth] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CPQInet] c:\compaq\CPQInet\CpqInet.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Service Connection] c:\cpqs\bwtools\sccenter.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SHPC32] shpc32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Symantec NetDriver Monitor] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMNET~1\SNDMON.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LexStart] lexstart.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CountrySelection] pctptt.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [GW Port Controller] c:\PROGRA~1\SAMSUNG\SMARTHRU\PORTCT95.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Hidserv] Hidserv.exe run
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccEvtMgr] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccPxySvc] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~4\CCPXYSVC.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Nisum] C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISUM.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Xzothkj] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\dhaczi.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] C:\PROGRA~1\YAHOO!\MESSEN~1\ypager.exe -quiet
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] C:\PROGRA~1\MESSEN~1\msmsgs.exe /background
    O9 - Extra button: AOL Instant Messenger (TM) - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM95\AIM.EXE (file missing)
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSJAVA.DLL
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSJAVA.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\PROGRA~1\MESSEN~1\MSMSGS.EXE
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MSN Messenger Service - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\PROGRA~1\MESSEN~1\MSMSGS.EXE
    O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O18 - Protocol: relatedlinks - {5AB65DD4-01FB-44D5-9537-3767AB80F790} - (no file)
     
  11. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    The log seems to be clean. Your startup programs however seems to be too many. Right click My computer icon and select Properties. Then the performance tab. How high are your resources? They should be between 85 and 90%.

    I see no issues in the log that may contribute to your Shutdown problems except for the startup programs.

    Shutdown problems can be caused by any of the following:

    1. Incompatible, damaged, or conflicting device drivers.
    2. A damaged exit sound file.
    3. Incorrectly configured or damaged hardware.

    Use the information in this link to troubleshoot Windows ME Shutdown problems:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;273746

    Best wishes!
     
  12. johnni

    johnni

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    786
    There are several free shut down programs here
    Alternatively, you can make your own shortcut as follows.
    Right click on desktop and click New Shortcut then type, or copy and paste, the following
    rundll32.exe shell32.dll,SHExitWindowsEx 1
    (space between exe and shell and after Ex, comma but no space after dll;
    using 2 instead of 1 restarts, so you could have two shortcuts!)
    The above shortcut seems to work fine with my ME.

    johnni
     
  13. jumper

    jumper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    JSntgRvr and Johnni,
    thanx for the reading material, they both are going to take some time to read. I will reply as soon as I can or as soon as the hockey game is over, Canada just scored gotta go.
     
  14. jumper

    jumper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    Johnni,
    I am confused. You said at the begining that it would help shutdown, and then saying "using 2 instead of 1 restarts". My confusion is with the restarts? I will attempt it but I am not following how a restart helps my shut down?? Pls advise.




    There are several free shut down programs here
    Alternatively, you can make your own shortcut as follows.
    Right click on desktop and click New Shortcut then type, or copy and paste, the following rundll32.exe shell32.dll,SHExitWindowsEx 1
    (space between exe and shell and after Ex, comma but no space after dll;
    using 2 instead of 1 restarts, so you could have two shortcuts!)
    The above shortcut seems to work fine with my ME
     
  15. johnni

    johnni

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    786
    Sorry - I was really saying that for a shutdown use the 1 version.
    (If you wanted to create a second shortcut for restarting your computer, as opposed to shutting it down, use the 2).
    What you really need is the 1 version. Hope it works for you.

    johnni
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/273250

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice