Solved: Will PC Video Cards improve quality on Plasma Screens?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

scooby_steve

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
165
Hi,

I'm just wondering if buying a better video card for the PC will improve the quality of the picture on my plasma??

I'm not sure if it is a Hi-Def plasma but the quality just looks poor when the image is being sent from the PC.

The quality is quite good when a DVD is being played.

Any help would be great.Thanks in advance.

Regards

Steve
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
8,709
How are you connecting computer to the plasma? What cable connection?
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
7,954
What is the resolution set to?

Video cards usually improve gaming, with things like FPS, how sharp the game is, and if any frames are dropped. If you have a monitor with no video card showing the desktop and another one with a video card showing the desktop, they will look the same.

Also, you should know that you can get temporary/fixable but annoying burn-ins from showing something too long on the screen (such as the taskbar) with a plasma.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
plasmas are designed for NTSC video. They typically have a max res of 720p, maybe 1080 - depending on age and model.

1024x768 (or 1280x720) is fairly low/typical resolution size. Designed for about 17" monitors. And you're blowing up the image to 42"... it never looks that good.

Only the TOP LCD monitors will give you 2500x1600+ type resolutions.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
944
What graphics card do you have now? Yes some perform better than others. Generally the graphics output to a plasma TV monitor gets smoothed out as aposed to the choppyness you see on a computer monitor. It depends on the settings available on your current card and it's performance with those settings turned up all the way.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Messages
548
nVidia have some serious settings with their drivers in order to drive a Plas in HD mode. I did it to mine 12-18months ago using the HDMI input.
The PC Mode you are using is probably seriously restricting though.
For movies plas's rock but for pc's they suck.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
7,954
Compiler is definitely correct, I knew that why didn't I say it. :p Your monitor is usually sharper and at a higher resolution so even though you may think that hooking up your PC to a TV is great because the screen is large, it will be worse because your TV's resolution is a lot lower and it is like up-sizing video.
 

scooby_steve

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
165
Hi All,

thanks for your inputs.... So my understanding is that the bottom line is that the monitor is the restriction, not the Video Card.

Thanks again.

Regards
Steve
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
7,954
scooby_steve said:
So my understanding is that the bottom line is that the monitor is the restriction, not the Video Card.
Yes, that is correct.

If your thread is solved, please mark your thread solved by selecting Mark Solved and clicking Perform Action in the Thread Tools at the top of your thread. ;)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top