1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Will Windows 8 automatically find programs already installed on D: drive

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by tonyacardo, Feb 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tonyacardo

    tonyacardo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    I am thinking of upgrading to Windows 8.
    I have 3 questions about it.

    Will it automatically find the programs I have installed on my D: drive or will I have to install them again?
    Does it have a good emulator for Windows 95? I still have some programs designed to run on Win 95, they are programs I use and I do not want to abandon them.
    Also, will Windows 8 allow me to use an interface that is point and click with a mouse. I do not have a touch screen.
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,273
    As you are running 7 Ultimate 64 bit you can upgrade to windows 8 Pro 64bit and keep more or less everything see this


    quoted from this link
    http://www.zdnet.com/article/everything-you-need-to-know-about-windows-8-upgrades-faq-part-2/


    Here is the official Microsoft upgrade doc
    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-gb/library/jj203353.aspx


    so you cannot upgrade and keep all to OTHER than windows 8 Pro


    Yes it does have compatibility going back to win95 but that does NOT mean that the program will run without problems please see screenshot


    Before you start run the windows 8 upgrade assistant
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/upgrade-to-windows-8


    and the 8.1


    You cannot upgrade to 8.1 from 7 and keep all. I do appreciate that you said to 8 however.
    You can of course later on go from 8 to 8.1


    Please ensure that you have all backed up - it can go wrong just like any other install.


    Yes you can use it with a mouse and keyboard just as 7. It is not the OS itself that enables touch.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,273
  4. tonyacardo

    tonyacardo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    Thanks for the lightning fast response. I will look into this carefully and get back if I have questions.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1143790

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice