1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Win 2000 or network problem?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mcgeeney, Jan 28, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mcgeeney

    mcgeeney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Messages:
    43
    We upgraded one of our Windows 95 pcs to Windows 2000. It's working on a Windows 95 Microsoft Network LAN. (The network used to have Novell under it as well but no longer and we have not been able to upgrade everything yet). All of the pcs can see eachother and connect EXCEPT the Win 2000 gives a "Disk or network error" message when we try to open a Microsoft Access database on one of the Win 95 pcs. The protocols, etc. are all set up the same; the workgroup mdw file is the same. What are we missing?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. OBJuan

    OBJuan

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2000
    Messages:
    3
    Security priviledges. Can you access the WIN9x m/c when logged onto the Win2000 system as Administrator?
     
  3. mcgeeney

    mcgeeney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Messages:
    43
    What's m/c ? I am logged on as Administrator on the Win 2000 machine, which will open everything on the target ("server") Win 95 pc but stops when the actual database (.mdb) file is to be opened. Then, error message: "The form name 'frmWelcome' is misspelled or refers to a form that doesn't exist," which isn't the case. That form is the opening form on the db and works fine otherwise. That's where I'm stuck.
     
  4. muranimo

    muranimo

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Messages:
    15
    Have you applied all updates and service paks? Might want to check the MS update website. What version of ACCESS are you running?
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Hiya

    When the error comes up, is there another button to click that comes up with another message?

    Is this Access 2000?

    I think m/c is machine.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  6. mcgeeney

    mcgeeney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks for the response, eddie, but the thing finally started working okay. Can't remember what happened, now....It was Access 97.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - [SOLVED] 2000 network
  1. flavallee
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    216
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/66808

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice