1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Win 7 autoupdate failure

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by BronzeBell, Jan 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BronzeBell

    BronzeBell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I have Windows 7 Pro 64bit set to automatically update the OS. Three days ago I lost connectivity on my shared home network that uses a Netgear WN2000RPTv2 wireless extender to help me connect to my Ruku which had worked perfectly to stream movies. (Amazon Prime). When I began to check out the systems for possible erorrs, I noticed that there had been updates for Netgear, several optional and one recommended.
    All failed with the error code of 80070103. I've tried unplugging my routers, did a hard restart to factory defaults, etc., all resulting in no change to the systems. Any suggestions? I am connected to CHARTER via a Cisco Cable Moden DCP3010 which is fed into my Netgear Wireless Dual-Band WNDR 3400 v2 router. The desktop pc connected to it is as follows:
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD FX(tm)-8150 Eight-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 1 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 10079 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7570, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 932364 MB, Free - 856809 MB; D: Total - 21079 MB, Free - 2654 MB;
    Motherboard: Gigabyte, 2AC8
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled

    Thanks in advance for any help you can give!
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  3. BronzeBell

    BronzeBell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    DAI: Thanks for the post! I had found that in my research, but now am confronted with problem of trying to update Netgear driver/firmware. When I go to http://www.routerlogin.net or http://www.routerlogin.com I cannot make a connection. Doesn't matter how many times I hit F5 key, there is no refresh or connection. It looks like I am going to have to resort to paying for Netgear support to get help in solving this problem.... Anyhow, THANKS for your input!
     
  4. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  5. BronzeBell

    BronzeBell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks again for the replies. Finally solved problem by getting new router, WNDR 3700 dual band. Resetting Windows update to notify, and not going to let Windows just "automatically" install updates. Again, many thanks for the replies!
     
  6. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    glad you have it sorted
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved autoupdate failure
  1. ozegirl
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    694
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083409

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice