1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Win 7 Laptop Unable to Connect to Full Wifi Connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jrbick, Jan 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jrbick

    jrbick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    My laptop is reading a full WiFi signal from my router. I am currently connected to the router via Ethernet on the same laptop. I've been reading tons of old threads to troubleshoot this. I'm at a loss. I have used this current networking hardware for more than a year without any problems. I do have a pretty old router but my iPod connects to the WiFi no problem at the moment. Here's what I've tried so far:

    - soft reset of router
    - power cycle modem and router
    - removed saved network information from the laptop
    - hard reset of router
    - ip release/renew
    - dns flush
    - tcp/ip reset
    - uninstalled/reinstalled drivers for wireless card
    - system restore

    I have supplied an ipconfig/all report, the 3 usual ping tests that I see requested, and I have attached a screenshot of Xirrus.

    Thank you kindly for the help!


    Here is my IPCONFIG/ALL


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : <<EDITED FOR PRIVACY>>
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-D6-46-90-48
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-64-7E-B1-37
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3d90:c56f:debc:9f78%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 20, 2013 3:42:36 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 21, 2013 3:42:35 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234890596
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-E2-F5-A3-00-25-64-7E-B1-37
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{A2D3739D-BCCE-4391-B5EA-98558BA96ED1}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #9
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 25:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:1c14:3099:bc02:ddca(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c14:3099:bc02:ddca%30(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {7E688B96-AB61-4DD8-8999-62D8EC120923}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #11
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C8B12AD8-DAFE-4F2E-8A2A-19B0FF6AA1E0}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #12
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    3 Ping Tests:

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms


    Pinging google.com [74.125.228.36] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.228.36: bytes=32 time=59ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.228.36: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.228.36: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=51
    Reply from 74.125.228.36: bytes=32 time=61ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 74.125.228.36:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 59ms, Maximum = 64ms, Average = 61ms


    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=49

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 40ms, Maximum = 41ms, Average = 40ms
     

    Attached Files:

  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the wireless was not connected - when you did the tests
    what happens when you try and connect to the wireless ?

    try
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Remove the wireless security
    Is your wireless security enabled?
    if so - log into the router and remove the wireless security - now see if it will connect.
    if it does - log back into the router and try with the wireless security enabled again

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. jrbick

    jrbick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    When I try to connect to my wireless network it fails and I get the message that "Windows was unable to connect" and gives me the options to troubleshoot the problem or to tell me more about internet connection problems. When I try to troubleshoot Windows tells me to reset my router.

    I just got back from doing further trouble shooting. I took my laptop to a public WiFi network along with my iPod. The iPod connected without any problems. The laptop was unable to connect. I got the same results as described above.

    Thanks for the quick response. What's my next move?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,932
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site.

    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?
     
  5. jrbick

    jrbick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Avast and it looks like Windows Firewall is also turned on. There has never been any other security suite installed on this machine. I've tried disabling Avast and then connecting to the wireless network to no avail. I didn't realize Windows Firewall was enabled though. I'll try disabling it and Avast to see if that makes any difference.

    I got the latest drivers from the intel web site, but I'll fish around Dell's and see if I can find anything.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,932
    First Name:
    Terry
    Windows firewall will not be a problem. Uninstall Avast to test just in case, but I doubt that it is causing a problem.
     
  7. jrbick

    jrbick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    I downloaded the drivers from Dell but the installer wouldn't work. I tried to manually install via the device manager but it said that the best drivers were already installed.

    I tried disabling both windows firewall and Avast but that didn't make any difference. Then I turned windows firewall back on and uninstalled Avast but there was still no difference.

    Just to clarify something...since the IPCONFIG report shows


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected



    ...this is likely the source of the problem? I've looked around quite a bit tonight and I can't find any explanation as to how this happens or how this is fixed. The device manager does show that there aren't any issues with the wireless card and it's reading all of the wireless networks around me.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    all thats really telling you is you haven't connected to the wireless network and you know that
    few things to try -
    - try safemode with networking - wireless will often not work in this mode - but its worth a try
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    remove all the wireless profiles

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    How to remove Wireless Profiles - for Vista and Windows 7
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - Vista/Windows7:
    - delete the wireless profiles
    Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

    Delete the profiles
    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to - so make sure you know the correct password , and not using an incorrect password at all
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    and run
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Services - Fabar Service Scanner, free

    We would like to see some status information for each of the services on the PC goto

    http://www.technibble.com/fabar-service-scanner/

    and download the free scanner tool

    Theres a Direct link to the program here
    http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/farbar/FSS.exe

    Now "double click" on the downloaded file to run the scanner , the scanner program will now open

    tick all the options. and then click on scan

    the scan results will open automatically in a seperate window in the notepad program.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste

    if you have any issues. A log file called FSS.txt will be created in the same directory as the program is run from.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,932
    First Name:
    Terry
    And one of those drivers is for the Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN, right? Probably means the adapter is defective, but can you be any more specific about "the installer wouldn't work"? Probably doesn't make any difference, but what other drivers, and did their installers work?

    When Device Manager says there is a problem you can be sure that there is a problem. When Device Manager says "working fine" it means only that the body has not started to decompose. If cars had a Device Manager it would say that a flat tire is working fine with 0.1 psi. :D
     
  10. jrbick

    jrbick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    The drivers that are currently installed are directly from Intel. They installed with out any issue. What I meant about the drivers from Dell was that the Dell installer instantly gives a Setup Error message that "This software package cannot be installed on your system. The setup application will exit." Then I attempted to manually install the drivers via device manager by selecting the folder the drivers were contained in and device manager said the current drivers I had installed (from Intel) were preferred.


    My apologies. What I wrote could not have been more confusing. Just to be absolutely clear, the device manager DOES NOT indicate that there are any issues with the wireless card or any other device for that matter. Hopefully I haven't hindered you in any way. My mind was clearly a bit fried when I wrote that.

    Going to go try what you suggest regarding Safe Mode and Fabar Service Scanner.
     
  11. jrbick

    jrbick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    .


    I attempted to connect to the wireless network in safe mode but the same problem occurs: a window pops up explaining that "Windows was unable to connect to Omega" and asks if I want to troubleshoot.

    I then went to delete the wireless profiles while still in safe mode as you explained and no surprise that there were no profiles to delete. I deleted all profiles at some point prior to creating this thread. I have not created any new profiles since then.

    While still in safe mode I have run the Farbar Service Scanner with all options selected. See below for the report.


    Farbar Service Scanner Version: 16-01-2013
    Ran by <edited> (administrator) on 21-01-2013 at 19:39:26
    Running from "C:\Users\<edited>\Downloads"
    Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1 (X64)
    Boot Mode: Network
    ****************************************************************

    Internet Services:
    ============

    Connection Status:
    ==============
    Localhost is accessible.
    LAN connected.
    Attempt to access Google IP returned error. Google IP is offline
    Google.com is accessible.
    Yahoo IP is accessible.
    Yahoo.com is accessible.


    Windows Firewall:
    =============

    Firewall Disabled Policy:
    ==================


    System Restore:
    ============
    SDRSVC Service is not running. Checking service configuration:
    The start type of SDRSVC service is OK.
    The ImagePath of SDRSVC service is OK.
    The ServiceDll of SDRSVC service is OK.

    VSS Service is not running. Checking service configuration:
    The start type of VSS service is OK.
    The ImagePath of VSS service is OK.


    System Restore Disabled Policy:
    ========================


    Action Center:
    ============
    wscsvc Service is not running. Checking service configuration:
    The start type of wscsvc service is OK.
    The ImagePath of wscsvc service is OK.
    The ServiceDll of wscsvc service is OK.


    Windows Update:
    ============
    wuauserv Service is not running. Checking service configuration:
    The start type of wuauserv service is OK.
    The ImagePath of wuauserv service is OK.
    The ServiceDll of wuauserv: "C:\Windows\system32\wuaueng.dll".

    BITS Service is not running. Checking service configuration:
    The start type of BITS service is set to Demand. The default start type is Auto.
    The ImagePath of BITS service is OK.
    The ServiceDll of BITS service is OK.

    EventSystem Service is not running. Checking service configuration:
    The start type of EventSystem service is OK.
    The ImagePath of EventSystem service is OK.
    The ServiceDll of EventSystem service is OK.


    Windows Autoupdate Disabled Policy:
    ============================


    Windows Defender:
    ==============

    Other Services:
    ==============


    File Check:
    ========
    C:\Windows\System32\nsisvc.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\nsiproxy.sys => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\dhcpcore.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\afd.sys => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\tdx.sys => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\tcpip.sys => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\dnsrslvr.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\mpssvc.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\bfe.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\mpsdrv.sys => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\SDRSVC.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\vssvc.exe => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\wscsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\wbem\WMIsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\wuaueng.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\qmgr.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\es.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\cryptsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MpSvc.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\ipnathlp.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\iphlpsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\svchost.exe => MD5 is legit
    C:\Windows\System32\rpcss.dll => MD5 is legit


    **** End of log ****
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,932
    First Name:
    Terry
    I suggest you try again. Make sure you are getting the driver for your system. And only get the wireless driver; you can worry about whatever others later. If it still won't install I don't know what could be wrong.
     
  13. jrbick

    jrbick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    15

    OK, this time I was able to successfully install the drivers from Dell. They are definitely rolled back from what was installed from Intel (judging by the date associated with the two different sets). I tried to connect but I got the same problem. I restarted in safe mode and I still have the same problem of not being able to establish the wireless connection.

    When this first happened, one of the first things I did was re-boot in safe mode and I remember that I was able to establish a wireless connection then. This was before I did anything more than just soft reset of the router and power cycle of both the modem and router. Once I established the connection in safe mode, I thought maybe I was OK and tried to establish the connection after a normal boot. I was not successful and I was not able to establish the connection in safe mode again after that.
     
  14. jrbick

    jrbick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Any other ideas?

    Since the card is reading the network signals, it doesn't seem like the problem would be due to the card not being seated properly. Does that sound right?

    I was prepared to re-install Windows and restore a back-up but I would love to avoid that if possible. Do you think a re-install has any merit?
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,932
    First Name:
    Terry
    Doesn't sound right to me. I don't know what "reading the network signals" means. We know that it detects networks but we haven't seen any indication that it will connect to one. An integrated wireless adapter has about three dozen individual connectors; no reason to believe that it will work perfectly or not even make an appearance if one of those connectors is not making good contact. There's a lot of room for partial failure.

    Yes, but. You should wait to see if Wayne has anything to say about the Farbar output. (I didn't see anything there, but I also don't know what to look for.)

    I would try a Live CD of Puppy Linux to see if the card is physically OK. The downside of that is sometimes (depends on the adapter) it is difficult to get Wi-Fi working in Puppy if you are not a little experienced with it. It's usually easier to use Wi-Fi working with Ubuntu, but the downside is that Ubuntu is much bigger.

    To review (I hope it's just a review): I think we've dealt with driver from Dell, security application(s), stack/WINSOCK repairs, and tried w/o encryption.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086141

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice