Solved: WIN 7 weather desktop "gadget"

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

SteveinSac

Steve
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
74
Hello Techs; on WIN 7 home version, there's desktop "gadgets" that come with, and I've had the Weather gadget for years.... suddenly yesterday its disconnected, only a blue box with "cannot connect to service". I have full internet & e-mail, so I assume it's a Microsoft problem. I called them, we did a admin full-system scan, no help, & guy hadn't heard of this problem and couldn't help. Of course, right?? Anyone heard of this sudden problem and have a solution, I'd sure appreciate it, thanks! Steve in Folsom, CA.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Messages
1,081
It might just be temporarily down or it might be "out of business." A lot of gadgets just don't get supported anymore.
 

SteveinSac

Steve
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
74
That's it, Brandon, it's gone away... I clicked on "get more gadgets" and Microsoft has discontinued gadgets, they are too dangerous & vulnerable to hackers, some were used to take over PC's. Too bad the Microsoft "expert" on the phone is clueless, woulda saved me some trouble! I'll have to find a replacement, thanks for helping. Steve
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
5
I am having the same issue. It stopped updating like 2-5 days ago. Now I closed it, and it says cannot connect to service. I hope it comes back.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
3
They may have discontinued support, but that is NOT why the gadget stopped working. I have three systems in my garage, and my work system, all running Windows 7 x64, and all but 1 have working weather gadgets. I don't know the solution, but but it isn't like everyone's weather gadget stopped working...just some of us.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
3
I just logged in to say its not "solved" in this way ("Gadgets have been discontinued", "Microsoft has discontinued gadgets" and so on)!
Here how you fix this issue:
Go to "C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Live\Services\Cache", open "Config.xml" (RMB -> Edit) and save it (File -> Save) without doing any changes. After 10-20 seconds restart the gadget!
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
1
Kot86 - genius solution! Thank you. So much misinformation out there on this topic.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
5
I just logged in to say its not "solved" in this way ("Gadgets have been discontinued", "Microsoft has discontinued gadgets" and so on)!
Here how you fix this issue:
Go to "C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Live\Services\Cache", open "Config.xml" (RMB -> Edit) and save it (File -> Save) without doing any changes. After 10-20 seconds restart the gadget!
What is RMB?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top