Solved: Win 98SE Machine Doesn't Recognize Ethernet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

SurfPark

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
12
I plugged in an old computer and wanted to get it working again, but I have not had success in getting it to connect to the internet. I have attempted to follow steps already laid out in this thread to no avail.

Its currently plugged into a router (model SMC70004VBR) on a cable modem. When I ran start > run > command > ipconfig /all, I was given this:

IP Address. . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Primary WINS Server . . . . :
Secondary WINS Server . . . :
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . :
Lease Expires . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter :

Description . . . . . . . . : HP EN1207D-TX 10/100 Family Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . : 00-10-B5-3D-68-C5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
Primary WINS Server . . . . :
Secondary WINS Server . . . :
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . : 07 14 07 5:50:18 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . : 07 21 07 5:50:18 PM

I attempted to try and install a new driver, but I'm not sure if I did it correctly. Any advice as to how I can get this connected to the internet?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
You got a good IP configuration from the router except for no DNS server. Have no idea why that would happen. Before doing anything else how about shutting down all computers and unplug the modem and router. Plug in modem. Plug in router. Give the router a minute and then boot the 98SE. If you don't have internet access post a new ipconfig /all
 
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
205
Not sure the Win 98 SE in ipconfig /all actually shows DNS servers like newer versions of Windows. Other then that cycling the router and modem is probably a good idea...or just plug the computer directly into the modem and see if you get Internet. Plug the comp into the modem, turn off the computer, turn off the modem, turn on the computer and immediately turn on the modem, another test, if you don't get Internet directly plugging it into the modem at first.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Good point, Skydawg. I went back and checked in that referenced thread; the DNS server is shown at the very beginning--a part that doesn't appear in SurfPark's.

In the Command Prompt try these 3 pings:
ping 192.168.2.1
ping 209.131.36.158
ping www.yahoo.com

If you get replies from all three, you have good internet access. Find that automatic Winsock fix that was given early in that thread you referenced.
 

SurfPark

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
12
I plugged the computer directly into the modem and had no luck. I released/renewed IPs. No luck. I rebooted computer and shut off modem. No luck. Here is a new ipconfig /all:

IP Address. . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Primary WINS Server . . . . :
Secondary WINS Server . . . :
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . :
Lease Expires . . . . . . . :

2 Ethernet adapter :

Description . . . . . . . . : HP EN1207D-TX 10/100 Family Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . : 00-10-B5-3D-68-C5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . : 24.192.174.187
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . : 24.192.168.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . : 172.31.15.246
Primary WINS Server . . . . :
Secondary WINS Server . . . :
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . : 07 15 07 12:26:43 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . : 07 22 07 12:26:43 AM
 

SurfPark

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
12
TerryNet said:
Good point, Skydawg. I went back and checked in that referenced thread; the DNS server is shown at the very beginning--a part that doesn't appear in SurfPark's.

In the Command Prompt try these 3 pings:
ping 192.168.2.1
ping 209.131.36.158
ping www.yahoo.com

If you get replies from all three, you have good internet access. Find that automatic Winsock fix that was given early in that thread you referenced.
192.168.2.1 rendered no response
209.131.36.158 was pinged successful, 0% loss
yahoo.com said "command not found" or something to that effect. Not sure if it was because of syntax or not.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
If you connect the computer directly to the modem, you can't ping addresses starting with 192. When you connected the computer directly to the modem, did you power cycle the modem? You have to do that when you change connections to it.
 

SurfPark

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
12
DoubleHelix said:
If you connect the computer directly to the modem, you can't ping addresses starting with 192. When you connected the computer directly to the modem, did you power cycle the modem? You have to do that when you change connections to it.
I did powercycle the modem before I connected it.
 
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
205
Connect computer to modem, then power cycle the modem, reboot machine (has to be in this order for the modem/ISP to recognize a different computer on their network). start > run > cmd > ipconfig /all

Ping 24.192.174.187 (where this is your computer's address, may change beacuse of DHCP)
Ping the Gateway 24.192.168.1
Ping yahoo.com (ensure you put the command ping in front of all of these or you will get command not found, or whatever 98SE says hehe).

Let us know what's up. :)
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
How about typing VER at the command prompt and pasting what you get? This is what I get for W98SE

Windows 98 [Version 4.10.2222]



I'm curious as to the format you're getting for an IPCONFIG /ALL

Here's what I get for W98SE, note that the DNS server is right after the host name.

Windows 98 IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . : WIN98-VM.home
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Node Type . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
NetBIOS Scope ID. . . . . . :
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . : No
NetBIOS Resolution Uses DNS : No

0 Ethernet adapter :

Description . . . . . . . . : Intel DC21140 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . : 00-03-FF-FC-FF-FF
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . : 192.168.131.67
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . : 192.168.131.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . : 192.168.131.254
Primary WINS Server . . . . :
Secondary WINS Server . . . :
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . : 07 15 07 11:01:50 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . : 07 19 24 5:50:21 AM
 

SurfPark

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
12
JohnWill said:
How about typing VER at the command prompt and pasting what you get? This is what I get for W98SE

Windows 98 [Version 4.10.2222]

I have version 4.10.2222. The format of the ipconfig /all is very strange. I don't know why it would be different.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Please do this.

Start, Run, WINIPCFG

Post a screen shot of the main page here.

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to TSG, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
 

SurfPark

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
12
JohnWill said:
Please do this.

Start, Run, WINIPCFG

Post a screen shot of the main page here.

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to TSG, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
The window came with a drop down. Here is first one...



These are the two when I select one of the options (the PPP Adapter shows up twice):



 
Joined
Dec 6, 2003
Messages
1,938
Plug the Win98 back into the router. Your network settings are fine and are working perfectly. Win98 is not equipped to handle today's network unprotected.

Do you have any other software installed, such as a firewall? Your network settings are fine, (your very first post showed that) so something else is causing your problem.

Courtney sends....
 

SurfPark

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
12
I had an old version of ZoneAlarm running, but it wasn't auto-booting with the PC. Just to be sure, I uninstalled that entirely, rebooted (with the PC directly connected to the modem) and still no luck. At this point, I'm considering reformatting and putting a new version of Windows 98SE on the computer. Do I have any other options?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top