1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Win XP Activation Loop

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jabaka, May 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jabaka

    jabaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Had to re-install WinXP Pro SP1 over WinXP SP2.
    Initially I used a copy of WinXP Pro w/SP1 & used the repair option. Now whenever I restart the machine, it states that "This copy of windows must be activated with Microsoft before you can log on. Do you want to activate Windows now?".
    I click on OK & go through the routine of activating over the internet or calling and entering the code received over the phone, both with & without registering with Microsoft, and it closes with "You have successfully activated you copy of Windows.".
    Then I re-start, or shut down & turn it back on and the same sequence recurs.
    I have even slipstreamed SP2 into my SP1 copy & re-installed using the repair option. Same result.
    Does anyone know how can I get out of this loop without having to wipe out my Windows directory with all of my saved settings & installed programs?

    Jz Lauratis
    [email protected]
    (702) 378-9071
     
  2. CouchMaster

    CouchMaster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,303
    Backup your files to cd-r and reinstall XP. SlipStream SP2 into the XP disk and get rid of the SP1 disk.
     
  3. jabaka

    jabaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the reply, but as I stated above, this is not the option I want to pursue. I'm probably looking for the registry entry that tells Windows that the software is un-activated.
     
  4. tgal

    tgal

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    262
    Windows stores the activation information in two files in the c:\windows\system32 folder: Wpa.dbl and Wpa.bak. If those files are locked, or permissions are incorrect, Windows may not be able to save its activation information.

    You might also want to check the following registry keys:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MICROSOFTNT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon
    (change Activation Required value to zero)

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsNT\CurrentVersion
    (change RegDone value to 1)

    Boot into safe mode, click Start→Run and type regedit then check these values.

    Hope this helps. Cheers.
     
  5. jabaka

    jabaka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks a million. That did it!!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/363300