[Solved] win xp compatibility

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ladderrack

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5
I have a new computer factory loaded with win xp home version. The printer, digi cam, and webcam I received for christmas will not work with xp. How do I remove xp from my machine and install windows me? ( I have a licensed copy of win me already )
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2001
Messages
67
ladderrack

Before you you take that drastic step:

A) - Go here and check out the hardware compatibility:

http://www.microsoft.com/hcl/default.asp

B) - Then go to the sites of your hardware manufacturers and
download the latest XP Drivers

I don't have XP yet but by all accounts it's worth persevering with.
The problem is probably that the software (including Drivers) that came with your hardware is not XP compatible but as the gifts are new you should be able to find Drivers for them.

If the manufacturer's sites don't have the relevant Drivers for XP, I understand that Win2000 Drivers will often work but I can't guatrantee that.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
As Thingy suggested I think you only need to get the XP drivers to make them work. If you have free disk space you could install Windows separately, and use dual booting. Edit the file c:\boot.ini and add Windows ME.

i.e.

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINXP
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINXP="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
C:\="Microsoft Windows ME"

Boot.ini is a hidden system file, so you may have to change your view options to see it.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
17
ME is horrible compared to XP..I'm sure the drivers are available.I'm running XP on 2 pc's and a lappy and couldn't be happier :)
 

ladderrack

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5
I had me on my previous computer and had no problems with it. Personally, I think xp is a piece of junk, and I WANT IT GONE. I am sorry none of you seem to understand this, but having to try to search out drivers and download them is ridiculous. I am not even slightly interested in keeping this system on this machine, wether it be dual boot or not. Can someone help me wipe out this garbage system?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
2
The more RAM the better--128 barely O.K.'d---256 min. for me and 512 with Pentium 4 is better---can handle gig of RAM with the two--large hard drive a must--20gig/min--patch security holes from web-site--good virus program installed AFTER xp--then the fun begins---very demanding /challenging setup from ME--character building for patience/I like this system now and will later when the "nuances" manifest
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
If you would like to totally wipe XP and install ME, you'll need to make sure you have backups of all that you want to keep because everything will be deleted from the drive. I wouldn't worry too much about saving the drivers because you'll probably need different ones for ME anyway.
Here's a quick rundown. If you're not familiar with any of the steps, post back and we'll give more detailed instructions.
1. Reboot with a Windows ME boot disk (you can get one <a href="http://www.bootdisk.com">here</a> and run fdisk to remove your existing partitions.
2. Create your partition(s), reboot, and format.
3. Remove floppy/insert Windows ME cd. Set your BIOS to boot from CD-rom and restart. The install should start on boot.
 

ladderrack

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5
ok, I downloaded the win me boot disk, and copied it to floppy. From this point forward, I am totally in the dark as what comes next. Sorry, but I am not up on the real technical stuff. Am I going to have a problem with things like video drivers, sound...etc..? As of right now, there is nothing on my machine that I need to worry about losing, so backup is not an issue. I just want to make sure my machine will work when I am done. Will my cd burner still work? I just don't know anything about this kind of stuff, and any help would be most appreciated, thanks
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
Did you copy the file you downloaded to the floppy? If so, you need to place it on your hard drive somewhere, insert a blank floppy and double-click the downloaded file to place the needed files on the disk. You can then reboot with the disk in the drive. Be sure to test it to make sure you can access your cd-rom drive from it by typing 'e:' at the a: prompt and then 'dir' to get a file listing of the cd (this is assuming you only have one hd with one partition - the cd-rom drive gets bumped up one)
You don't technically need to run fdisk if your drive is fat32 (if it's ntfs you will need to remove the partition(s) and recreate because ME won't recognize it) - you can just reformat by typing 'format c:' (repeat for any other partitions you may have).

I tried to find a good site really quick that will give you detailed instructions of what to do. <a href="http://www.geocities.com/SiliconValley/Hills/5220/fdiskformatr.html">This</a> is what I came up with quickly. You'll already have your boot disk so you can skip that part. If I find a better one, I'll post back. Also, <a href="http://www.rselby.com/Windows.html#14">Here's </a>a bit that rkselby has on his site.
Really, once you get your drive ready to go, the install will be a piece of cake.

Windows will probably find the majority of the drivers for you but maybe not all. Before installing ME, I'd suggest you know the brand/models of your hardware and go to their website to download the appropriate drivers. Burn them onto cd if you would like (recommended).
 

ladderrack

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5
Hey, thanks guys for all the advice. I have been put in contact with a guiy in my local area who is willing to set my machine up as a dual boot, at no charge to me. This person is someone who I can trust, and I will be taking my machine to him tomorrow and he says it will only take a couple of hours to perform the whole thing. Once again, THANK YOU for the help. I will post back when I get my machine back and hooked up. THANK YOU !!!!!!!!!!
 

ladderrack

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5
Hey guys, I just got my machine back, and am happily running a dual boot now between win me and, somehow, I was magically upgraded to xp pro, instesd of home version. I just wanted to say thanks once again for all the advice and help all you fine people offered up to me in my time of need. Also, all my devices are working fine on me. Once again, thank you all
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top