[Solved] Win2K Desktop Icon Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Paul Nagel

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 1999
Messages
1,843
I recently installed Win2k Pro and some how managed to drag and drop onto my desktop the icon called "Computers Near Me" that is normally is in the "My Network Places" folder. I did not do this intentionly and it will not let me return it. It seem that My Network Places folder cannot be changed. It somehow let me remove the CNM icon but will not let me return it. Not a big deal, but if you can direct me to the proper method of restoreing it, i would much appreciate it. I have tried Drag and Drop, Cut and Paste, Copy and Paste. The Drag and Drop shows a black circle with a cross bar when the icon is moved. The Cut and Copy offer no Paste option. I tried all the above in both Safe Mode and Normal boot.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,301
Hiya

When you try the Drag and Drop method, have you tried this way?

Rightclick on the folder, then drag it to where you want it to go. Release the button and choose Move Here.

Regards

eddie
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Have you tried just creating a new one with the add network icon in the folder, if it works, you should just be able to delete the old one.
 

Paul Nagel

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 1999
Messages
1,843
Thanks eddie and brian. Nothing seems to work to get that icon back to where it was. I am not very happy with Win2K so far. It loads up most programs slower then Win98se. I am having problems with the web also. This web site(Teck Support Guy) will load partial pages, no page but with html tags, blank pages indicated as "DONE" or error messages of page not found etc... i sometimes need to refresh or reload a page 2-4 times to get a complete page. Other pages with less graphics seem better, but i also get problems with them. I am thinking it is some security setting but i am clueless. I got this Win2k Pro with service pack 2 without documentation or booklets as it was from a gamer who hated it and traded as payment for service. My only experience with NT based computer is in connecting up Win9x machines to servers. If anyone has any sugestions for the internet problem and or books on Win2k i would appreciate any help. Thanks in advance.
PS: This was a clean install (fat 32) on a new 40gig WD 7200 rpm drive.
The system is an Asus A7A266/Athlon 1.33ghz, 512 mb ddr, ATI All In Wonder Raedon with Lynkses 10/100 lan card, CD-rom, Hp CDRW, and a 30 gig WD 7200 rpm hard drive with W98se.
 

Brooks

Guest
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
2,323
As far as this web page goes, they have been having some issues with their ISP. He is on a temporary line right now. You can read more about it in the announcements section.

http://forums.techguy.org/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=14

To recreate the Computer Near Me shortcut, read the follwoing knowledgebase article.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q257902

A couple of sites with some tweaks to help speed up IE.

http://is-it-true.org/nt/registry/rtips328.shtml

http://tutorials.findtutorials.com/read/id/23

Check in Internet Options under connections, Lan Settings to see if Automatically Detect Settings is checked. If it is, unless you need to automatically need to detect proxy settings, uncheck it.

Also, try changing the setting for the amount of temporary internet files.

If you have upgraded to IE 6.0,


IE 6.0 wants to run a schelduled task everytime it connects to a server. This results in slower browsing. To disable this delete the following key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\RemoteComputer\NameSpace\{D6277990-4C6A-11CF-8D87-00AA0060F5BF}.
 

Paul Nagel

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 1999
Messages
1,843
Brooks-Thanks for the info. The MS link about changing the Workgroup name worked with the icon problem. The problems concerning this web site being slow i knew about and my only worries were that other sites seemed to be very slow compared with when i would boot up using Win98se on this computer using the same modem/IE 5.01 setup. Have worked out some problems with the local ISP and things are a little better. I guess my learning about NT/Win2K pro is going to take awile.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,834
It does take a while to learn, however I think you will like it better after you have used it for a few weeks. As to web pages loading slower, I upgraded to IE6, there was a noticeable improvement in loading time. You might try that. Also check to see if DMA is enabled, it usually does on installation but it is worth a look.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top