(Solved) Win98se -- 640MB memory

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

arty62

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
290
In another thread Rollin'Rog said that memory in excess of 512mb might cause problrms....please see my other thread (ctl+alt+delete) to see if this excess memory could possibly be the cause of my problems....thanks...rt
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Messages
574
it'd be easier for you to yank the excess memory and see if it fixes your problems
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Do Start > Run > System.ini
Scroll to the [vcache] section
Add a line
MaxFileCache=448000
Save, exit and reboot

This will limit vcache to 70% of your installed ram, and "may" help your freezes. It can't hurt.
 

arty62

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
290
Whitphil....thanks for suggestion....that section currently reads:
MaxFileCache=163274
MinFileCache=163274
Chunksize=512
[msnp32]

Should I edit maxfile or add a line?(where)
Should I change Minfile?
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
166
I believe this is a known issue with Microsoft Windows Millennium Edition ,
Microsoft Windows 98 Second Edition , Microsoft Windows 98 , Microsoft
Windows 95 directly from Microsoft when there is 512 megs of RAM or more
installed on your PC. There is a workaround, which is the following:

Use the MaxFileCache setting in the System.ini file to reduce the
maximum amount of memory that Vcache uses to 512 megabytes (524,288 KB) or
less

Users have to remove the additional RAM temporarily to allow the system
to boot before the procedure can be performed.

Remove enough system RAM to bring the total below 512 megabytes.
Restore the power source.
Start the computer.
Locate the SYSTEM.INI file (usually located at C:\Windows\SYSTEM.INI).
Right-click the SYSTEM.INI file and select the Open With... option.
Select Notepad from the program list.
Click the Ok button.

Locate the [VCache] section in the SYSTEM.INI file.

Change the MaxFileCache setting to a value less than 524288
(kilobytes).

Example: [VCache]
MaxFileCache=523264 *If there is no MaxFileCache entry, please add it
and set the value as show in the example above.*

From the Notepad menu, select File > Save.
Close Notepad.
Shut the computer down.
Disconnect the power source.
Reinstall the system RAM removed in Step 2.
Start the computer. It should boot normally


I think I got that right....
 

arty62

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
290
thanks to you all for suggestions...tried the above, got beaucoup new different problems....right now I have 512mb memory, have set vcache to 163274 (33% of ram)....machine now runs bout as it did before....I dont know if I should add the extra RAM, or if I should set the vcache higher.....in any case, my origional problems still seem to be with me....thanks again....rt
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Originally posted by arty62:
Whitphil....thanks for suggestion....that section currently reads:
MaxFileCache=163274
MinFileCache=163274
Chunksize=512
[msnp32]

Should I edit maxfile or add a line?(where)
Should I change Minfile?
Get rid of the MinFileCache line

What these lines are doing are DEDICATING 160MBs of ram for the file cache, whether you need it or not.

You can leave the Max at 163 if you like or raise it to my 448, it really shouldn't matter (unless you are dealing with very large files)

All the max is doing is placing an upper limit on the amount of ram that windows can use for the file cache.

PCs with more than 512MBs installed "may" experience issues as a result of the cache growing too large. That is why the MAX is placed in system.ini.

You can try removing it alltogether and see how things run. If you experience problems booting, or getting out of memory errors, then you need to replace the MaxFileCache line again.
 

arty62

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
290
Whitphil....ok, deleted MinVcache....all seems normal so far...did notice that Memory Mgr is allocating 271 MB, leaving 271 or so free....where is it being allocated??
 

arty62

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
290
Thanks to you WhitPhil I now have pretty good handle on what this about...right now machine is rapid , boots ok, and handled some large photo files as test....thanks again...now if we can cure my c-a-d prob, all will be JOY!!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top