1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] win98se hangs on install

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Kerri Ann, Oct 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kerri Ann

    Kerri Ann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    995
    i'm trying to install windows 98se on a pc i just built, and every time i get to the part in setup where it checks for installed components, it hangs at 100%. does anyone know why?

    thanks in advance...
     
  2. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    There could be many reasons why but the first thing I'd try would be to remove all of the cards except for the video card and then try to install W98SE.
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Yep, ditto on what Bryan said ;) And anything externally plugged in except the keyboard, mouse and monitor.
     
  4. Kerri Ann

    Kerri Ann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    995
    ok, i removed everything but the kb and monitor... same thing...
    i also had a little trouble with my cdrom drive this time. i had to install drivers for it from mitsumi, and it sees the win98cd, but it wouldn't run setup the first time i tried.
     
  5. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Try installing from the hard drive. Boot to the boot diskette and enter each command at an A:\ prompt and press enter after each.

    md c:\windows
    md c:\windows\options
    md c:\windows\options\cabs
    copy d:\win98\*.* c:\windows\options\cabs\*.*

    Now remove the CD.

    At the a:\> prompt type in the following and press enter.

    c:\windows\options\cabs\setup

    You'll be prompted during the install that the "Windows folder already exists ..." and it will suggest you install to Windows.000

    Remove the .000 from the end and let it install to the existing folder Windows
     
  6. Kerri Ann

    Kerri Ann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    995
    ok, when you say to type
    copy d:\win98\*.* c:\windows\options\cabs\*.*
    d is supposed to be my cdrom drive, right? because f is my cdrom drive, d is my second partition, and e is ramdrive (temporarily)
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Substitute the drive letter ;)
     
  8. Kerri Ann

    Kerri Ann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    995
    that's what i thought, just making sure. :) thanks!
     
  9. Kerri Ann

    Kerri Ann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    995
    ok guys. i did it! thanks alot bryan and acacandy :) i really appreciate it. now i just have to figure out what the heck i plan on doing with the computer i installed it on...
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Network them :D
     
  11. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Glad to hear your ok now.

    BTW, the nice thing about installing from the hardrive is, in the future when you add or remove Windows components, it will automatically look to the hard drive for any files it needs instead of prompting you for the Windows CD.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171306

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice