Solved: WinAmp Crashes

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mad_caper

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
84
So, out of no where, WinAmp has ceased to work. Every time I open it up I get a message saying there was an error and it had to shut down.

The even viewer gave me the following message

Faulting application winamp.exe, version 5.0.0.3, faulting module ntdll.dll, version 5.1.2600.1217, fault address 0x00007d85.

I searched google a bit and saw that ntdll.dll commonly caused problems in explorer, but saw no link to winamp.
Thanks for your help.
 

Cheeseball81

Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
84,315
Have you done a clean uninstall/reinstall?
It's always the first option to try
I was reading in the Winamp forums that a lot of people do encounter a problem with the ntdll.dll file.
It might be caused by some 3rd-party plugin/skin
 

mad_caper

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
84
Is it normal, though, for the problems to come out of nowhere? I haven't added any plug-ins or skins for quite some time now but this error just started to occur.

BTW: Unistall/Install worked. Thanks
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
It's more normal than we'd like to admit. :) Simple changes in the registry and/or the common DLL's can cause applications to suddenly behave in a different manner, including not working at all.
 

peril0us

Banned
Joined
Oct 13, 2003
Messages
906
I just got a update for my display driver and now i get that message. I can use WMP but not winamp :(

Error Signature:
AppName: winamp.exe AppVer: 5.0.0.5 ModName: ntdll.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.1106 Offset: 0000178d
 

Cheeseball81

Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
84,315
Did you try the uninstall/reinstall too, peril0us?

BTW glad it worked, mad_caper :D (y)
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2
i have a simmilar problem. i believe it came up when i reverted from onboard to my Audigy 2 sound card.(not entirely sure tho) when i start winamp i see the program before windows tells me this program has encountered and error and has to be shut down. allso im running windows XP 64bit edition dont know if that makes a difference as it used to work. and a reinstall doesnt help the problem can anyone help, oh and i realise this is a verry old thread sorry about that :(
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top