1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Window 2000 BIOS access

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Preston1, Apr 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Preston1

    Preston1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Hello All,

    My old company recently were closing and said we could take a few PC's and so on.
    So i took a few, and was hoping to re install XP on a particular one.

    However it is an old Dell Optiplex GX260 with Windows 2000 installed on it.
    I cannot access BIOS at all during start up. Nothing seems to work, the PC just takes a while to boot and then eventually loads Windows 2000.

    There is no screen saying press ABC to access BIOS, i have tried pressing the following keys during start up:
    ESC
    ESC & C
    F4
    F6
    F8
    Delete
    Ctrl + Alt + Enter
    Prt Scr
    Pause

    Pretty much every button on the keyboard...sometimes i get a few beeps but nothing further.
    The only thing that happens is a splash screen for Win 2000 is displayed with a progress bar.

    Can i try anything else to access BIOS?
    Thanks in advance for any help
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,497
    on most dell's the bios is access by F2; I've got a pile of GX260's here at work, and they all use F2.
     
  3. Preston1

    Preston1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks for the quick reply, have tried pressing F2 until my finger comes off now...
    No luck, but sometimes even on boot the keyboard lights dont come as they should
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,497
    dunno........I know from Dell's own site that that model uses F2 to get into the setup.


    Entering System Setup


    does it show you the options to hit anything as it's booting, and prior to the splash screen?
     
  5. Preston1

    Preston1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    No i never get any screen telling me to hit F2, the screen stays black until the splash screen is displayed.
    PC is connected to an LCD TV and not a CRT screen (as i know setup screens can be missed due to CRT's starting so thats not the case).

    I also just keep pressing F2 until something happens, but nothing does and then the splash screen takes over.
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,497
    do you have another monitor you can hook it to besides the television?
     
  7. Preston1

    Preston1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Well...this is clearly my fault :eek:
    PC monitor showed the PC Set up F2 option screen...and displayed a keyboard failure message...thats why is wasnt working

    But on the 5th attempt it has gone into BIOS...all about the screen...embarrassing...we will keep this between us ;)

    Thanks for the help!
     
  8. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,497
    de nada, happens all the time, trust me. :)

    if you are satisfied, you can mark this solved by hitting the 'solved' button on the upper left.

    thanks,

    v
     
  9. Preston1

    Preston1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Will do, thanks for the help again...appreciate it
     
  10. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,497
    sorta what we're here for. :)
     
  11. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,497
    btw, that keyboard failure issue generally occurs if you hit any key TOO many times, and 99% of time, if you wait about 30 seconds, it will clear itself. Done that one enough times on my own.
     
  12. Preston1

    Preston1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Ok cool, thanks for the help...in the process of installing XP now so all is going ok
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/989163