1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Window-7 can't connect to internet

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by untesugu, Feb 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. untesugu

    untesugu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 2015 Mb
    Graphics Card: S3 Graphics ProSavageDDR, 32 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 76347 MB, Free - 23592 MB;
    Motherboard: , P4M266A-8235
    Antivirus: Norton Security Suite, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

    2 PC's wired to Netgear router XP works Ok Win-7 getting error message "Local area connection doesn't have a valid IP address". Check cables, turned router off/on, ran TCP stack reset, rebooted just can't seem to get it to work. Note: I can't get to internet to get Win-7 Sysinfo.

    Thank You
     
  2. untesugu

    untesugu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    I have 2 PC's wired to a Netgear router. XP works but Window-7 getting error message "Local area connection doesn't have a valid IP address. Checked cables, turned router off/on, reset TCP stack, rebooted just can't seem to get connected.

    Thanks for your help
     
  3. kanaitpro

    kanaitpro Account Closed

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    493
    you can take the sysinfo from the xp box on a flash drive. first, in command prompt, hit ipconfig/all and post the results. open the network and sharing center, click the change adapter settings link on the left side and right click on the icon which says lan (you did say they were wired to the router, if not, choose the proper adapter), then hit properties. highlight the ipv4 in the box and hit the properties button and ensure that obtain an address automatically and obtain a dns server automatically are selected. also you can run the following: ipconfig /release; ipconfig /renew ; ipconfig /flushdns ; ipconfig /registerdns ; netsh winsock reset ; netsh dump ; nbtstat -R. don't forget to hit enter after each one and reboot at the end. if that doesn't help, there are a couple of more things we can try
     
  4. untesugu

    untesugu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    I found my problem. I was using a Hub instead of as Router.
    Thanks to everyone who replied!
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1089828

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice