Solved: Windows 7 automatic downloads

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

webby048

Geoff
Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
176
Hi All,
I installed Windows 7 Ultimate on December 27 and opted for automaticupdates. Just lately when shutting down I get a message "do not power offcomputer - installing 1 of 5 updates" This is the third time I havereceived this message so I checked "update history" and foud thatsince December 27 microsoft downloaded 338 updates!
Is this normal ?
With thelast five totalling 62.9MB I'm sure I could be forgiven for assuming that microsoft have gone into thebuisiness of selling extra memory drives.
Your advice would be appreciated
 
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
14,142
When you look in your update history do the last five updates show as successful or failed?

As you probably installed Windows 7 without Service Pack 1 there would have been a lot of updates to install, not all will be for Windows 7, some may be for other products, Office, Defender, etc.
 

webby048

Geoff
Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
176
They were all successful - the 338 were all flagged successful too. Thank's for the hint.
 
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
14,142
You're welcome and in that case there is no need for you to be concerned.

Please click on the Thread Tools tab at the top of the thread and mark it as solved.
 

webby048

Geoff
Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
176
Hi Guys,
after checking my Updates history I noted that for the past 6 or so days Automatic updates had installed the same 5 Security updates again and again - sort of like groundhog day...
I contacted microsoft and they are aware of the problem - called it "update conflict" where my update controller was istalling them but failing to "register" them with microsoft meaning that at the next check in time, the same updates were still required and subsequently downloaded. Thankfully they were overwriting themseves so there was no memory problem.
Microsoft kindly rectified the problem by manually installing them for me.
Thanks to everone who looked in.
 
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
14,142
Thanks for letting us know about that, that information may come in useful in the future.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top