1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows 7 game minimizing and windows keep switching

Discussion in 'Games' started by barratt15, Sep 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. barratt15

    barratt15 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hello,
    I bought this PC yesterday, specifically to play flight simulator 2004 and/or FSX. Both installed OK but when I run them after about 10 seconds they both minimize to desktop. They don't crash; I can reopen them but they do the same thing. I ran FS9 in safe mode; it didn't minimize but instead automatically paused in the same intervals.
    Moreover, whenever I type for longer than a few seconds like I am now, the curser disappears like I have switched windows and I have to reclick this window to type again. This is also very irritating and confusing. It's as if windows is constantly trying to return to the desktop. It also happens on Word and hotmail, anything that involves typing.
    I have checked what background programs I'm running and can't see any.
    All help appreciated, thanks.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 220 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 6 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3839 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 466883 MB, Free - 410661 MB; D: Total - 466883 MB, Free - 466779 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer, Aspire X1420, ,
    Antivirus: McAfee VirusScan, Disabled
     
  2. MothFeatures

    MothFeatures

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Do you have a slideshow running as your wallpaper? I was having issues with older games until I found out it can cause issues such as minimising aaand glitchy gfx.
     
  3. barratt15

    barratt15 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks! I did indeed have a slideshow rnning and now I've disabled it the problem has stopped. Such a simple fix!
    Thanks again MothFeatures
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    it would make sense because it will use that process and then minimize what you have open to reflect the change...
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1016049