1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: windows 7 hibernate resume problem after install SP1

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by newuser2, Jan 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. newuser2

    newuser2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    I have this problem with windows 7 hibernate after install SP1. before I installed win 7 sp1, hibernate worked, after I installed SP1 beta, RC1,and latest leaked final RTM build, hibernate does work as it should be. video turn off, then hard drive turn off, power turn off, but it would not wake, normally it can resume by press a key or power button, after I install sp1, power turn as normal but would not wake up, any key would not resume power on. then I press power button, it does to the screen 'windows did not shutdown properly, safe mode or start windows normally.'

    I have tried reset power options, bcdedit in this site , and this. still same. I used same sp1 package on a laptop, no any problem.

    what is exact in sp1 could cause this? how to solve this?
     
  2. w7pro

    w7pro

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    I'm not certain what's in SP1 that could have caused this and you did try to reset your power options. Have you tried to do a system restore back before you installed it? Or is that hindered as well?

    -- Ryan
    Windows Outreach Team
     
  3. newuser2

    newuser2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    hibernate would work without sp1. but I have installed same sp1 on a another pc and a laptop, no problem. I do not know why.

    can anybody provide remote session to look into my system see what is exactly is going on?
     
  4. fodelement

    fodelement

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    I would like to point out that this post in no way will assist you in your problem but..


     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    uninstall SP1
     
  6. newuser2

    newuser2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    it is not beta. it is final RTM version.
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    SP1 hasn't been released yet so it isn't final version & might well be infected
    No official copies have been released by Microsoft yet & no official date has been set for release
    If the problem started since installing SP1 then uninstall it
    That is the ONLY solution
     
  8. scotoma

    scotoma

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hi

    Just installed SP1 today and same thing.

    If you are using an ssd drive as your OS drive then this could be it.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2495523

    I uninstalled SP1 and then reinstalled it as I thought it could have been corrupt because I cancelled the initial install. Sent it to hibernate. BSOD. Installed the hotfix. NO BSOD.

    Im just skimming with this one as I can't be arsed fixing a billion £$£$£ companys fkups. Any more problems and this cntin SP1 will be gone with a clean install...
     
  9. newuser2

    newuser2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    I am using 6gb/s hard drive, not ssd. will this fix the problem?
     
  10. johnebadbak

    johnebadbak

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,731
  11. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    It might do but you still need to uninstall the defective or non legal SP1 version you stupidly installed & then use windows update to install the proper version

    Using pre-release versions are always danagerous & all the leaked versions we heard about were all Russian or chinese copies so doubly suspect
     
  12. newuser2

    newuser2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    yes. I did install latest SP1 from windows update. blue screen says 'INTERNAL POWER ERROR', minidump did not count and no dump file created.

    I installed the fix you posted and it seems kind of working, need more test make sure the problem is fixed.
     
  13. wujtehacjusz

    wujtehacjusz

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    I had exactly the same problem and the hotfix above fixed it for me. Thanks for you help scotman.
     
  14. scotoma

    scotoma

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Good to hear. You're welcome.

    Maybe OT and for note: I had a corrupt scsiport.sys after a recent windows upate. I wonder if it's related to the hotfix? It was around 25/03/11. The machine BSOD while streaming a movie on the wifi to tv. Everytime I tried to log on I got a BSOD and a scsiport.sys error. Switched to ide in bios and got a BSOD but a different error relating to the ide interface. Could not even login to safe mode. Same BSOD. I had to use windows recovery disc ( load driver search) to move my files and then backup to a system image. I'm now pre SP1. Anyways. Could be the update, could be bad ram corrupting the hibernation cache, could be the ssd c300 when it gets full, could be the new psu. No daemon tools installed. It could be just about anything until it happens again. I'll run prime for a few decades, update to sp1 and all the next updates and see what happens.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975882

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice