1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows 7 machine does not detect win xp machine

Discussion in 'Networking' started by CyberFog, Apr 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Hi.

    I have a network problem. My windows 7 machine is not detecting win xp machine whereas win xp machine is detecting win 7 machine.
    They are in the same workgroup named Home. And the networking system is set to work. I have left the homegroup I was previously in. I enabled file sharing for devices that use 40 bit and 50 bit encryption.
    On XP I have enabled NetBios over TCP/IP.
    File sharing is enabled on both computers.
    I think it's something obvious as both instalations on different computers are really fresh and both windows haven't been tampered with.

    Thank you for your assistance.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. gyrgrls

    gyrgrls Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    XP user policies differ from Win 7. This is too common.
    You need to have matching users and passwords on each machine,
    or to monkey with the group policies in XP. I prefer the user/password
    solution, for security and simplicity. Just use the control userpassword2
    command, or grab the registry patch off the web, and then use it to
    automatically log in yourself as user. And make sure "simple file sharing" is turned off.

    I run across this thing at least once a week.
     
  4. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Thank you for the quick answer.

    But I don't have any accounts or passwords on both of the machines. I turned off simple file sharing on xp.
    Still nothing.
    Does restarting computers mean any difference?
     
  5. gyrgrls

    gyrgrls Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    XP group policies don't allow null passwords, by default, for rpc's.

    LOOK HERE for the rundown.

    I still recommend you use user password login, though. Less hacking into the bowels of the registry,
    and transparent, with auto logon.
     
  6. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Can you give me a more detailed desciption on what to do. I will use user password login.
    So I installed that registry entry and got the User Acounts Admin (Alternate) screen on windows 7 computer.
    I uncheked ' user need to logon ...' check box.
    I'm supposed to do something in manage password tab?
    I changed user on windows 7 computer to Barichke so now it's the same as Win xp computer. Both have matching passwords.
     
  7. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Can somebody give me some assistance?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,802
    First Name:
    Terry
    What firewall or security suite on each machine?

    Can you ping the XP from the Windows 7 by IP address? By computer name?
     
  9. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Hey TerryNet.

    Thanks for the answer.

    Ok, baricev-crew is the name of the computer with windows xp installed.
    BratskiPC is the name of the computer with the windows 7 enterprise installed.

    By computer name;
    I can ping baricev-crew (XP) from BratskiPC (7).
    Further more I can ping BratskiPC from baricev-crew.

    By IP adress;
    I can ping both equaly.

    When I did ipconfig on XP it just shows data of the ethernet adapter(IP adress, default gateway...).
    On the other hand when I did the same thing for the windows 7 it shows a lot of data.
    Does that mean anything?

    On Xp machine is Microsoft Endpoint protection installed.
    I turned it off.
    There is no antivirus protection on the windows 7 machine.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,802
    First Name:
    Terry
    Seems like it should be working. On the windows 7 in a Run box type:

    \\baricev-crew

    If that does not access the XP tell us the exact error.
     
  11. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    It found it. Why don't i see it in network?
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,802
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you have XP SP3 I do not know. Try in Network again and search for it.

    If your XP is way, way (pre SP3) out of date on updates that may be the reason.
     
  13. CyberFog

    CyberFog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    It is XP SP3 but it is ok.
    I can easily access it with run.

    Thanks.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,802
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1051286

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice