1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows 7 multithreading.

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by leroys1000, Dec 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    I just bought this as it is something I can afford to make
    my HTPC a quad core system.
    Deliberated long and hard on this as I can't afford newer hardware.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=390272899134&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT
    Checked the manual and did some research and it should fit and run.
    The eps12v power supply thing had me going,but it appears the newer
    24 pin supplies cover that.
    I'm just going to use a 4 pin to 8 pin cpu power adapter.
    The cpu's are supposed to be 65 watt,so not too much of a power
    demand increase from where I am now.
    Might try overclocking it to 2.4Ghz in the future.

    My question is that when windows 7 media center is running,according
    to performance monitor,it is doing a good job of spreading the load
    across both cores on my dual core.
    Will it do the same for 2 dual cores and spread the load across the 4 cores?
    Only real difference I see is that memory banks are dedicated to each core
    on the board I just bought.
    Even with a dual core,internet tv in media center is running about 90% cpu usage.
    Would like to get that down a bit.
     
  2. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    To use two physical processors, you have to be running Win 7 Pro, Ultimate, or Enterprise.

    Windows 7 Starter, Home Basic, and Home Premium will only work with one physical processor.

    32 bit versions support 32 cores, 64 bit supports 256 cores, but all cores have to be on the same physical processor.
     
  3. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Oh well,guess I'll have to see what I can get out of it.
    I am using windows 7 ultimate.
    Thanks.

    Looks like ultimate can handle 2 physical processors,
    so I may be ok.
    Oh you already said that,oops.LOL :)
    Still wonder if media center is going to load balance
    across them though.

    I have been able to set affinity on programs before,but
    never found a way to get it to stick.
    It just resets on reboot.
     
  4. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    Hopefully Windows can spread it across all available cores.
    Don't know on the affinity, I've never played with it other than in the Prime95 program, and that is set in the program itself, not via Windows.

    I've never checked to see what the CPU load is on my Win 7 system when watching TV online, so fire something up from CBS in Firefox... Firefox is hanging around 70%, total bouncing between 75 and 95. Never realized it was that high. I can record two shows and watch a third on my XP MCE system and it never goes above 10-12%. That's Standard Definition though, and the hardware decoder on the tuner probably makes a big difference. Have to test the XP box with online TV, see if it's just as high on XP.
     
  5. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Yeah,live tv is fine at about 30%.
    Running internet tv in media center calls up ehexthost.exe extensibilty
    host program that just chews the hell out of cpu cycles.
    Hulu desktop does quite a bit better.

    CPU affinity can be set by right clicking a process in task manager.
    It just won't stay the way it is set after a reboot.
     
  6. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Got to get a bigger case with better circulation.
    Put the top on this one and the cpu fans rev up.
    Had to swap my dvd and vfd around to make room,
    but it fits.

    Windows 7 does load balance across all four cores
    on both processors.
    Internet tv running 25% on all 4 cores.
    Nice.
     
  7. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Figured out the problem.
    This board has jumpers to enable/disable 4 pin fan control support.
    I set it to 3 pin and it slowed the fans down.
    Got the case closed up.
    CPU 1 is at 46 degrees C,but is still within specs.
    I am going to pull the face plate and cut a bigger hole in the frame later.
    I think I can cut it out for a 120mm fan.
    Also going to put an active heatsink on the chipset.
    Don't like that passive one,although it's at the end of the video card.
    Just won't be able to use a longer card,not that I need to.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/969799

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice