1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows 7 not genuine

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by spatian116, Apr 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. spatian116

    spatian116 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Hello

    Just recently my computer has started showing messages saying that Windows 7 isn't genuine. My copy is completely genuine bought only 5 months ago off ebay. I think it was 5 months. 3 days after release. Anyway i have tried calling Microsoft, MULTIPLE TIMES, and they have been complete ******** and screwed me around. Anyone got any ideas about whats going on?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I think you are going to have to work it through with microsoft - If they are saying its not genuine
    have a look here
    http://www.microsoft.com/genuine/ProgramInfo.aspx
    http://www.tothepc.com/archives/check-if-my-windows-7-genuine/

    If those products are saying you DO NOT have a genuine copy, I think the only recourse is to discuss with microsoft, or the person you purchased the software of ebay... - is the ebay seller reputable??

    I think it may be due to this update - KB971033 is a WGA update that you are getting the flag - it found something it didnt lile

    i assume this just says your copy is not genuine - http://www.microsoft.com/genuine/validate/ValidateNow.aspx

    Unless you have some sort of virus on the PC thats doing this - do you have an upto date virus scanner
     
  3. spatian116

    spatian116 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    The software came in sealed packaging which to me looked exactly the same as others i have seen.
     
  4. spatian116

    spatian116 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Currently i am reinstalling so I'll check once its installed in about 30 mins
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
  6. spatian116

    spatian116 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    aight. reinstalled I just have to reboot a few times and ill do it
     
  7. spatian116

    spatian116 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Alright. It worked. But now it's saying my key is blocked. Ima call em tomoz. Thanks for your help man.
     
  8. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,388
    First Name:
    David
    Yes, counterfeit software can come in counterfeit boxes that does look just like the real McCoy.:D
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/917839

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice