1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Windows 7 Service Pack 1 (SP1)will not install

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by vipers, Feb 13, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vipers

    vipers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    I have an Acer Aspire 5551-2036 running Windows 7 Home Premium. Each time I download SP1 and attempt to install it, the configuration gets to 8% then fails. I have ran System Update Readiness, troubleshooter, uninstalled all anti virus software, cleared out cache and deleted previous installed files that could cause problems.... short of restoring my unit is there another solution?
     
  2. texasbullet

    texasbullet

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Have you checked if SP1 is already installed in your computer.

    Click start/right click computer/select "properties".
     
  3. vipers

    vipers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Yes, service Pack 0..........error code is 0x800f0826
     
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,817
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,645
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Acer Aspire 5551-2036 laptop supposedly came with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit and was introduced shortly before the Service Pack 1 upgrade for Windows 7 was released in March 2011 (almost 4 years ago).

    Why are you just now trying to upgrade it to Service Pack 1?

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. vipers

    vipers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    It is an old unit I didn't use for years.....
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,645
    First Name:
    Frank
    Since we don't know what issues and debris it had before you stopped using it, reinstalling Windows 7 Home Premium and getting a fresh start with it may be your best option.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. vipers

    vipers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    yes, that is my last option...
     
  9. vipers

    vipers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    I have done a complete virus/malware cleanup with Norton, McAfee, Kaspersky, Malwarebytes, Panda, Webroot.
     
  10. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,069
    First Name:
    Liz
    I had a computer that I spent more than a week on, doing everything to get SP1 installed. It just would not do it.
    I finally resorted to downloading the ISO of Win 7 Home Prem with SP1. I burned the ISO to a DVD then I used my serial number on my COA and installed it that way.

    Unfortunately the ISOs for Win 7 with SP1 have been moving around and closing so it is not easy to point you to a download that is guaranteed to work.
     
    vipers likes this.
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,645
    First Name:
    Frank
    Liz:

    Most, if not all, of the previous ISO download links for Windows 7 no longer work.

    Here is the Microsoft ISO download site:

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-recovery

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1143039

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice