Solved: Windows 8.1 refusing to install.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

thesnapman44

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
143
Hello,

I am trying to install Windows 8.1 onto my computer.
Reminders keep asking me if i want to install 8.1 , so i thought i would try it out.
I have tried to install 8.1 three times, but everytime, it fails.
It begins with the downloading, and with that, all is fine. Then it tells me it is installing 8.1 .
It goes through the process of installing, no problem, but when it has to restart after installation, it informs me that, "Windows 8.1 has failed to install correctly, and will now restore the previous version of Windows".
I then end up with what i originally had, Windows 8.

I would like to install Windows 8.1, so can anyone tell me, why my computer is refusing this installation?

Thank you.

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8, 64 bit
Processor: AMD E-300 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, AMD64 Family 20 Model 2 Stepping 0
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 3678 Mb
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6300 series Graphics, 384 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 294105 MB, Free - 235590 MB;
Motherboard: TOSHIBA, Portable PC
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,735
Hi
We have worked together before - with some success


Lets see if together we can sort this out


Start with a system file check


cmd prompt with admin rights


type


sfc /scannow


I think you know - so apologies for posting how to open a cmd prompt with admin rights if that is too basic


ON 8 FROM DESKTOP press windows key
type
cmd


I know there is no where to type but as soon as you press the c
it will appear in the search box
when the words
command prompt then appear
right click and click run as admin


when the cmd window then opens it will be headed
Administrator Command Prompt


If it is headed only
Command Prompt then you have it wrong


when it is correct
type the cmd


as I said
sfc /scannow


Please post what it reports
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,735
Further to the above
If that system file check reports all in order please proceed as below - if it does not we will pursue that when you reply


THEN go here
http://www.toshiba.eu/innovation/generic/windows8_1-upgrade-stepbystep/


as you have a Toshiba - although the link is a generic guide it is still good advice


See especially - updating from Toshiba and updating windows - the latter always being vital before attempting the 8.1 download from the Store


In respect of windows updates from Microsoft - preparing to upgrade to 8.1
Get the latest critical and important updates. There are some updates you might need before you can install Windows 8.1. In most cases, the latest updates will be installed automatically using Windows Update. But if you don’t have automatic updates turned on and you need to check for updates manually, or if you'd like to check to see when the latest updates were installed, you can do this from Windows Update
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,368
First Name
Frank
July 2014:

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1, 64 bit
Processor: AMD E-300 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, AMD64 Family 20 Model 2 Stepping 0
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 3678 Mb
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6300 series Graphics, 384 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 294555 MB, Free - 229550 MB;
Motherboard: TOSHIBA, Portable PC
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
February 2015:

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8, 64 bit
Processor: AMD E-300 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, AMD64 Family 20 Model 2 Stepping 0
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 3678 Mb
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6300 series Graphics, 384 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 294105 MB, Free - 235590 MB;
Motherboard: TOSHIBA, Portable PC
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
According to your thread history, you had Windows 8.1 64-bit in that same laptop about 7 months ago.

--------------------------------------------------------
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,735
My colleague Flavallee - is on the ball there - without a doubt.


Additionally you posted on another topic
I wonder if anyone can help. My computer takes 4 minutes and 35 seconds to load, (from powering on to the desktop), so i am thinking that some of my start-up items needs to be disabled, to help improve loading up time. However, i do not know where to begin. Is there a decent website that can explain to me, for example, in Windows Services, what can be disabled and what should not. There are other areas, such as, Scheduled Tasks, Application Services, Plug-Ins and Startup Programs that say how long they take, so i wonder if i can disable some of those too. Thanks.
which was here
http://forums.techguy.org/windows-8/1142199-start-up-very-slow.html

ONLY some 9 days ago- which also appears to be the same computer.
Advice was offered but you never replied

If that computer is still showing that behaviour - obviously something is not correct and attempts to upgrade to 8.1 are a lost cause until it is sorted.
 

thesnapman44

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
143
Sorry, i totally forgot about replying to the thread where my computer was starting up slow, " My computer takes 4 minutes and 35 seconds to load". I followed the advice given, and the computer now starts in under 2 minutes, after disabling some start-up items and services. Yes, the problem of slow start-up, in on the same computer as the one i want Windows 8.1 on. I will get around to marking the first problem i had as "solved", asap.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,735
Absolutely no need to apologise. Only pointed it out so that we could start from the beginning so to speak


Which services have you disabled as doing so is UNLESS you have the knowledge a very unwise action


Also as my colleague - Flavallee - spotted - did it have 8.1 at some stage


Also I have here a homebuild triple boot 8.1, 7 and XP
8.1 from post to desktop is less than 10 seconds
 

thesnapman44

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
143
Yes, it did have 8.1 before. My spouse wanted to see if it was okay, because she wanted to download it on hers, when i bought her a new laptop. However, soon after 8.1 was on, my computer receved a really nasty virus, and fortunately, i had my back-up disks which i made, so i had then re-install my old settings.
 

thesnapman44

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
143
Also, you and i did work together on a problem that this computer was having. I was extremely satisfied with your response, which resulted in my computer being fully functional.
 

thesnapman44

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
143
These are the scan results:

"Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files, but was unable to fix some of them. Details are included in the CBS.Log windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For example C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.Log.Note that logging is currently not supported in offline servicing scenarios.
C:\Windows\system32>Can"
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,735
go back to cmd prompt with admin rights and copy and paste this please



Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

spacing is critical so it is easier to copy and paste, rather than try and type
It uses the internet connection if necessary to download files from the Microsoft servers, so it will be quicker if you do NOT use the connection.
It may appear to hang about 8, 20 and 80% - be patient.

Please report results
 

thesnapman44

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
143
These are the results:

"The restore operation completed succesfully. The component store corruption was repaired. The operation completed succesfully."
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,735
1. That is what we wanted


2. Run another system file check - hopefully it will now report - all correct no violations - or corrupt files


3. If that is the case proceed please to windows updates - Control Panel Windows updates
and as explained above ensure all critical and important updates installed including any you have previously hidden


Open Windows Update and check for new updates. Make sure all available updates have been installed in your computer. Also check the hidden updates by clicking on "Restore hidden updates" link given in left sidebar. If you find any hidden update, install it immediately.
It seems there are some important updates which are required by Windows 8.1 downloader and if it finds those updates missing in a computer, it shows the error message.
If you want, you can leave optional updates such as Bing Desktop, Silverlight, etc unchecked but make sure to install all important and critical updates.

4. Please do answer my question -
Which services have you disabled as doing so is UNLESS you have the knowledge a very unwise action
 

thesnapman44

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
143
Firstly, the scan reported that there were no integrity issues.

These are Start-up items that i disabled:

Adobe ARM
Bloggie Watcher Utility
Google update
HotKeys CMDS
Persistence
ToshibaAppPlace

Sceduled Tasks:
AitAgent
Avast Emergency Update
Consolidator
FamilySafetyMonitor
Microsoft Compatibility Appraiser
Norton Error Analyzer
Norton Error Processor
Policy Converter
Remote Assistance Task
Scheduled Defrag
Service Station
Synaptics Touchpad Enhancements
Uninstall Device Task
Uploader
Verified Publisher Cert Store Check

Plug-ins:
Avast Shell Extension x64
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,735
and which if any services please


ALSO do NOT yet proceed with the attempt to install 8.1 as there is more work to do - with the info I have from your last post
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top